Learning to Cook · Miss Mary · Recipes

Learning to Cook, Pour Over Coffee – Guest Post Lisa Watson

2016 Guest PostMeet Lisa Watson, AKA Lisa Annie who is on a journey of discovering food! Lisa lives in St. Louis (STL) and has an entourage of Social Media sites dedicated to reporting on many of the local restaurants in and about STL along with her recipes.  Lisa is a banker, wife, she’s Italian and English, and a new home owner.  She enjoys bringing her friends and family together to cook for them, whether it is for breakfast, lunch, dinner, or just a quick cup of coffee.  I met Lisa when I visited my daughter in St. Louis.  She’s full of life and has made my daughter and her husband most welcome to the St. Louis area.

2016 divider

2016 Lisa Watson

I’m Lisa Annie and I am on a journey of discovering food!  My husband Joe and I love going to coffee shops.  We often engage the baristas in conversations and they have shared so much with us.  In the past few years their advice has been huge for my palate and personal growth with food and beverages. I have learned so much about what really goes into making fresh delicious meals, drinks, and even coffee.

Given the chance to have coffee at Starbucks, or a local coffee shop such as Kaldi’s, Comet Coffee or Blue Print Coffee, the local coffee house wins every time.

I didn’t think I enjoyed coffee. It turns out I not only like it, but I love it!!!!

If you’ve ever had Starbucks coffee or Foldgers coffee and you don’t like the bitter flavor, it’s because they actually burn the coffee beans. When Starbucks makes their coffee, they use water that is over 202 degrees.  That’s why I (and maybe you too) have to put an ice cube in it to help cool it down before it can be consumed.

2016 LTC GP Lisa 1For the last two years my husband Joe and I have been making pour over coffee at home! We use our Chemex coffeemaker and Bonavita kettle to make a perfect cup of coffee.

The water is brought to a temperature just under boiling, and then slowly poured over the ground coffee beans [they’re in a filter] until just covered with water.

The coffee then blooms for 30-45 seconds. You can see the bubbles forming. The smell is intoxicating. Repeat these steps for 3-4 minutes and serve a lovely hot fresh cup of the best tasting coffee you will find! The coffee is more aromatic and has the best flavor.

2016 LTC GP Lisa 2Turn it into a latte at home by putting your freshly brewed coffee and milk into a blender for 3-4 minutes.  I made my own sage and brown sugar simple syrup and it was heavenly.  [Syrup and Latte recipe are below.]

If you haven’t had Penrose, from St. Louis’s own Blue Print Coffee [interesting blog here] or Malawi Peabody, from Fenton, or Missouri’s Stringbean Company I recommend them!

2016 LTC GP Lisa 3Cheers to a great cup of coffee in the comfort of your own home!

Xoxo,  Lisa Annie!

P. S. You can find me on Facebook/olivefooddoyou, or on Instagram or on Snapchat: OliveFooddoyou2

Sage and Brown Sugar Simple Syrup

  • 2 cups of water
  • 1  1/2 cup packed  brown sugar
  • 4-6 sage  leaves (depends on size)

I put it all in a pot and heat until all of the sugar is melted and then let it simmer for 15 min or so. Then I put it in a container (squeeze bottle) and store it in the fridge.  It lasts for up to 2 weeks.

For the lattes:

  • 2 tbsp of simple syrup
  • 1-1/2 cups of coffee
  • 1/2 cup of milk

2016 dividerFor Chicago area coffee lovers that want to try the pour over coffee you’ll find these shops carry it.

  • Asado Coffee
  • Inteligensia Coffee – on Randolph, on Broadway, on Division in Wicker Park
  • Bow Truss Coffee – on N. Wells, on Broadway in Lake View East
  • Heritage Bicycles – on N Lincoln in Lakeview
  • Buzz: Killer Espresso – at Damen and North Avenue
  • Caffe Streets – W. Division between Wood and Hermitage in East Ukrainian Village
  • Worm Hole – N Milwaukee Ave in Wicker Park

One thought on “Learning to Cook, Pour Over Coffee – Guest Post Lisa Watson

  1. Ever since I discovered fresh roasted coffee, I could never go back to buying coffee at a grocery store. There are so many varieties of coffee from all over the world and I want to try them all!

    Like

Leave a Reply

