Inspire · Miss Mary · Sewing

Easter is coming! Free Easter Tote Pattern!

2016 Bandi tote valentine
A Valentine version of the Bandi Tote.

Last  year I wanted to do something cute for the little girls next door that was’t just a plastic Easter basket.  From that desire I designed the Bandi Tote.

There is nothing more satisfying, for me, than going from concept to finished product when it comes to sewing.  Inspiration combined with knowledge of the sewing arts, you can think through all the pieces that fit together similar to an Ironman 2 hologram scene where all moving parts are deconstructed.  In all honesty my mind does this when drawing the concept.  The mind “deconstructs” the design.  The pages after the concept design the details in seams, measurements, style adaptability, and accessories.  I think I’ll start calling my mind Jarvis.

Easter is coming I’m really excited to share with you a FREE tote pattern that I’ve written, The Bandi Tote.  Please give it a try.  I have added the previous post here regarding the tote and the link to the pattern.  Send me photos when you’re done.

2016 divider

Bandi Tote Original Design

I’m inviting sewists and others, to give it a try, AND to please provide feedback.  This is a user friendly beginner to confident beginner level pattern.  If you haven’t sewn before I’d like you to meet a fellow blogger, Beth Huntington – Renegade Seamstress who is running a Learning to Sew EHOW series.  I suggest you start here.

2015 bandi tote coverIt’s a cute little tote for children to be used as an Easter Basket turned pool bag, book bag, and depending on the fabric, you could make one for every holiday – say maybe Halloween!  I pride myself in creating the bottoms of these bags with Yarnology plastic canvas strips.  It provides a solid base rather than a floppy one. Dimensions – 10.5” x 10.5” x 4”.

This is the type of bag that you can use Hobby Lobby fabric.  They and Joanns carry the Robert Kauffman Kona solids that make for a beautiful lining.  I found the Yarnology plastic canvas at Joanns as well as the fusible interfacing.  Joanns and Hobby Lobby both have mobile online coupons that you can take advantage of as well.

A little about printing this pattern, it is booklet style and you can print it back to back like a booklet.

Download the pattern here: 2016 Bandi Tote

Here are the supplies needed to make the Bandi Tote:

Fabric

  • 3/4 yard for outer fabric (bottom, band and straps)
  • 1/2 yard for lining
  • 1/2 yard for Pellon 809 Decor Bond fusible lining interfacing
  • 3/4 yard Pellon 987F fusible fleece

Notions

  • 1 – 1 1/2 “ matching button
  • Yarnology sheet of plastic canvas
  • Matching tread to lining

Please let me know how you like it.  I have more in the works.  Just have to figure out the digital pattern thingy.

Leave a Reply

