Inspire · Managing diabetes · Miss Mary

Meal Prep Mondays, Abs are made in the kitchen!

Meet Ianna Loader.  I met Ianna three years ago and have watched her achieve her hard earned goals.  A busy mom to her lovely daughter Victoria, she is a certified trainer at the Algonquin Life Time Fitness, and a licensed Massage Therapist.  Ianna started sharing her prep meals on Facebook.  Food prep is a theme that Ianna uses when consulting her clients.  I asked Ianna to share her food prep philosophy in this post.  At the end of this post I’ve listed sites that can get you started in Meal Prep.

2016 divider

2016 IL meal parp 3I have always been an active person interested in health and fitness.  It wasn’t till about 4 years ago when I turned my passion for living a healthy lifestyle into meal prep for nutritional health.

I set fitness goals for myself.  Nothing is more motivating than working toward a goal!  My goal last year was to participate and place in a bikini competition. Dedication in the gym, healthy diet and food prep helped me to achieve that goal.  Without the food prep I would not have been as successful.  Nothing was more satisfying than when I was up on that stage holding a trophy.

The goals this year are to run a half marathon in May and become a nutrition coach at Lifetime Fitness.  Always set goals, it’s what keeps you going!

I post my meal preps and recipes on Face Book and Instagram in hopes of motivating people to live a healthier lifestyle.  I truly love helping people whether through training, nutrition, or massage therapy.  Nothing makes me happier than being able to effect someone’s life in a positive way!

Now let’s talk food prep! First let’s start off with the basics of grocery shopping.  Stick to the fresh produce and the outside perimeter of the grocery store. The less you go down the middle isles the less processed food you’ll have in your cart.

Food prepping doesn’t have to be so strict; you can add all different spices to mix it up! For me personally, I like to just stick to the basics. I find that I have better success if I don’t bring any tempting food into the house.  I also make it a priority for my daughter to also understand the importance of eating healthy balanced meals.  But remember, we do have to have a little balance in our lives.  I enjoy pizza and Reeses as a special treat for working so hard.  I also enjoy being able to take my daughter out for her special treat as well.  In the fitness world we call this the “cheat meal”.

The basics: (this is not a complete list)

  1. Proteins: chicken, lean ground turkey, egg whites, protein powder, plain Greek yogurt
  2. Good fats: almonds, avocados
  3. Carbohydrates: oatmeal, brown rice, sweet potatoes, apples, berries
  4. Green veggies: broccoli, asparagus, green beans, and spinach.

Making and prepping the food.

  • 2 proteins
  • 2 carbohydrates, and
  • 2 to 3 different green veggies.

2016 IL meal prep 4Grill or roast the lean protein.   I love roasted sweet potatoes with a little olive oil. So yummy! And of course you can try a variety of spices to put on you chicken or ground turkey.   When everything is prepared use your containers and measure the food according to your fitness goals /macros. For example:

  • 4 oz of chicken
  • ½ cup of roasted sweet potatoes, and broccoli
  • Healthy fats, amount will depend on your specific macros

Another favorite is:

  • 4oz lean turkey
  • ½ cup of brown rice
  • 2oz avocado
  • 2 Tablespoons of salsa

2016 IL meal prep 2All so easy to do. Making enough for three days which should be about 12 meals.  When you plan ahead you are setting yourself up for success! The more prepared you are, the less chance you’ll be tempted to go through a drive thru!

In the end I just love doing this. Takes the brain work out of what you have to eat and keeps you accountable. It’s easy to just take a meal out and pop it in the microwave!

I cook on Sundays and Wednesdays so it’s only twice a week you have to cook! Yes, its work but then it’s all done and ready for you.

I’m not only accomplishing a healthy way of life but, also setting a great example for my daughter and my clients. I’m always trying to help people, and motivate them to food prep. I have even gone as far as going to a few clients’ houses and actually food prepping with them!

As a trainer, I am always talking the importance of nutrition, and how prepping can make you more successful at reaching your specific goal. I stress the importance that this is not a “diet” it’s a healthy lifestyle.  Its true what they say, “Abs are made in the kitchen!”

Ianna Loader CPT, LMT

Here are a few links that may help you to get started.

My Fitness Pal

  1. The beginner guide to meal planning
  2. The beginners guide to carbs

Skinny Ms – is a one stop shop to find all your helpful recipes, meal planning and exercise.

  1. Mix & match lunches

Clean Eating

  1. Meal Plans and Grocery Lists

Body for Life

  1. Meal Plans
  2. Grocery Lists

Shape Magazine

  1. Healthy eating flavors

My Body My Kitchen

  1. How many calories do I need?

 

Leave a Reply

