Learning to Cook · Miss Mary · Recipes

Learning to Cook, Spiralizer – French Apple Tart

2016 LTC SpiralizerWell I did it, I broke down and purchased a Paderno 4 Blade Spiralizer.  Let the fun begin!!!!  It’s all because of Houlihan’s.  The food they’ve made with this tool is delicious and guest worthy.  BTW, you have until February 29th to try their special Inspiralizer meals.

With a Progressive Dinner looming over the weekend my first order of business was to create Ina Garten’s French Apple Tart as a test run.  I’ve been watching Ina make them for years thinking they were way too time consuming.  NOT!  She finally used Puff Pastry!  She has made them with homemade pastry dough as well, but then wouldn’t you call it an apple slice?  Maybe not.

I love apples, all kinds of them, especially when they’re baked.  I made a small one for me and the hubs.  Thing is I added a few spices, Cardamon – say that 10 times fast, Cinnamon – ditto, and vanilla – don’t bother.  That combination comes from the BEST IN THE WORLD apple breakfast cake you’ll ever eat.  Click the link and make it for Sunday brunch.  It will not disappoint.

FYI, don’t be put off by the aroma of the Calvados.  Once it is heated and applied, only a hint of flavor is there and it’s spectacular.

2016 LTC Spiralizer 9The Spiralizer was easy to assemble, easy to clean, and easy to store (A+).  I purchased the small recipe book, Spiralizer Cookbook 2.0.  Had too, it was staring at me.  After all, this is about Learning to Cook!

There are SO many sources to learn how to use the Spiralizer, tons of recipes, and if you’re like me I would like to see and taste before I purchase.  I purchased the Paderno Spiralizer 4 blade.  There is the Inspiralizer that looks easy enough to use as well, plus there’s all kinds of videos on how to use it and make meals.   Skinny Taste makes many Spiralized recipes.  The video below is from the William Sonoma Test Kitchen showing how to use the 4 blade Spirializer.

Moving along:  This is Ina’s recipe but made a little differently.  I just couldn’t get the apple cake out of my head because I wanted that Cardomon taste.  So there are spices added to this that are not in her recipe.  I’m also using 1/4 sheet pans that I picked up last week at Sur le Table SUCH A DEAL.  I had been using my grandmothers which were ancient – they were done and done.
2016 LTC Spiralizer tart 7
French Apple Tart

Preheat the oven to 400°

  • 1 Package frozen Pepperridge Farm puff pastry, defrosted (I used only one sheet)
  • 2 small Granny Smith apples, spirialized with the big blade – you can peel them if you want
  • ¼ cup sugar
  • ¼ teaspoon cardamon
  • ¼ teaspoon cinnamon
  • ¼ teaspoon good vanilla
  • Juice of half a lemon
  • 3 Tablespoons of butter, cut into small cubes
  • 1 Tablespoon Calvados
  • ½ cup Apricot Preserves

Using ¼ sheet pan, line it with parchment paper or the Reynolds Wrap non-stick Pan Lining Paper.  (Lay the pan on top of the paper, using a pencil outline the pan, then cut.  Perfect fit.)  This helps the tart from sticking to the pan.
2016 LTC Spiralizer tart 2In a medium bowl, add the spirialized apples with skin on, sugar, cardamon, cinnamon, vanilla and lemon juice.  I mixed it with my hands till all coated.

Roll out the dough on a floured board to fit the ¼ sheet pan.  Place into the pan.

2016 LTC Spiralizer tart 4Lay the apples in lines overlapping using the small pieces to cover open dough spots.  Sprinkle with sugar then add the dots of butter.

2016 LTC Spiralizer tart 5Bake at 400° for 20 to 25 minutes till pastry is browned and the edges of the apples start to brown.

2016 LTC Spiralizer 6While you’re waiting, add the apricot preserves and Calvados to a microwave proof bowl,  Heat for one minute.  Handle carefully.  Using a whisk, blend all together.  Brush immediately after the tart comes out of the oven covering the pastry and the fruit.

Loosen the tart with a long metal spatula.  Allow to cool.  I used a pizza cutter to cut the slices.

NOTES:  Cardamon – Let’s talk a about a little unappreciated spice, Cardamon.  I’ll give you a few links for background/uses of the spice.  My mother used it primarily in baking with a Swedish Cardamon TwistWikipedia tells me that the food uses are middle eastern countries and used often in Sweden and Finland in their holiday baking such as Julekage.  Marth Stewart has a video where she’s making Spiced Cardamon Cookies.  I purchase the already ground spice.

Leave a Reply

