Miss Mary · Sewing

This is Big, My First Tote Pattern – FREE

2016 Bandi Tote Cover
If you haven’t been able to tell over the years, I am completely addicted to making totes and quilts.  I can’t begin to tell you all of the totes I’ve made, designed, and sweated over.  Creatively, it fills a side of me that needs to be completed.  In fact, I didn’t even know I could draw.  Therefore, I’m trying my hand at pattern making.

Bandi Tote Original Design

I’m really excited to share with you a FREE tote pattern that I’ve written, The Bandi Tote.  I created these totes last year around Easter and had a few requests to make them.  Unfortunately I don’t have all the time in the world to do that, and am now getting around to producing a pattern.

I’m inviting sewists and others, to give it a try, AND to please provide feedback.  This is a user friendly beginner to confident beginner level pattern.  If you haven’t sewn before I’d like you to meet a fellow blogger, Beth Huntington – Renegade Seamstress who is running a Learning to Sew EHOW series.  I suggest you start here.

It’s a cute little tote for children to be used as an Easter Basket turned pool bag, book bag, and depending on the fabric, you could make one for every holiday – say maybe Halloween!  I pride myself in creating the bottoms of these bags with Yarnology plastic canvas strips.  It provides a solid base rather than a floppy one. Dimensions – 10.5” x 10.5” x 4”.

This is the type of bag that you can use Hobby Lobby fabric.  They and Joanns carry the Robert Kauffman Kona solids that make for a beautiful lining.  I found the Yarnology plastic canvas at Joanns as well as the fusible interfacing.  Joanns and Hobby Lobby both have mobile online coupons that you can take advantage of as well.

A little about printing this pattern, it is booklet style and you can print it back to back like a booklet.

Download the pattern here: 2016 Bandi Tote

Here are the supplies needed to make the Bandi Tote:

Fabric

  • 3/4 yard for outer fabric (bottom, band and straps)2015 bandi tote cover
  • 1/2 yard for lining
  • 1/2 yard for Pellon 809 Decor Bond fusible lining interfacing
  • 3/4 yard Pellon 987F fusible fleece

Notions

  • 1 – 1 1/2 “ matching button
  • Yarnology sheet of plastic canvas
  • Matching tread to lining

Please let me know how you like it.  I have more in the works.  Just have to figure out the digital pattern thingy.

4 thoughts on “This is Big, My First Tote Pattern – FREE

  1. Thank you for this lovely pattern, Mary. I am looking forward to trying my hand at producing one and I hope to then teach my granddaughters how to sew something cute, fun and useful along side me. I think that this is just the thing to ignite a passion for creative sewing in a new generation. It’s going to be fun!

    Like

Leave a Reply

