Learning to Cook · Miss Mary

Learning to Cook; Pan Searing Not My Favorite

imageThought I’d try something new, slow roasted then pan sear.  Not my favorite method to cook meat.  I understand the theory, slow roasted heat then sear the meat in a really hot pan.  Low and slow is suppose to create a “dry exterior creating a thin arid layer that turns into a gratifyingly crisp crust when seared“, according to Cooks Illustrated “The Science of Good Cooking”.  Well, I had a hot mess on my stove when done.

I tried the slow roasted pan seared method on a smaller boneless pork chop, which this recipe was written for an inch and a half chop.  My bad.  Probably why we weren’t exactly jumping up and down.  The outside was dry and crunchy but the inside was ok.

The redemption was the finishing sauce – OUTSTANDING (Que the angels singing) Garlic and Thyme Pan Sauce.  After roasting low and slow you need to “sear” the chop on both sides creating “fond” (browned bits on the surface of the saute pan).  Using the fond, saute shallot and garlic till tender, add chicken broth and white wine.  Reduce the sauce while loosening the fond.  Off heat add a wee bit of white wine vinegar, thyme and butter.  Holy Moses was that fantastic.   Thought we had gone to a restaurant.

imageNote: When a recipe says stir constantly, you need all your other ingredients standing at the ready.

Of course there was the freaking clean up on the stove top.  I really don’t like messy cooking.  I think I’ll stick to marinade roasting or grilling.  I achieve a better textured meat.  Think I’ll look up a slow roast pan seared something on You Tube and perhaps try again.  But, I will be making that sauce again.

For our personal use, I cut the recipe in half because it was just for two pork chops.

Printable version 2016 Garlic and Thyme Pan Sauce

Cooks Illustrated Garlic and Thyme Pan Sauce

  • 1 large shallot, minced
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • ¾ c low-sodium chicken broth
  • ½ c dry white wine
  • ¼ t white wine vinegar
  • 1 t fresh thyme, minced – I used dried
  • 3 T unsalted butter, cut into 3 pieces and shilled
  • Salt and pepper

On medium heat using 1 tablespoon of fat from the meat you just seared, sauté the shallots and garlic, stirring constantly, until softened, about 1 minute.  Add broth and wine, scraping pan bottom to loosen browned bits.  Simmer until reduced to ½ cup, approximately 6 minutes.  Off heat, stir in vinegar and thyme, then whisk in butter, 1 tablespoon at a time.  Season with salt and pepper to taste and serve with meat.

 

Leave a Reply

