Miss Mary · Recipes

Family Favorite Pies

It was THAT kind of afternoon, marathon baking.   I started around 2:30pm and finished around 8:30pm with a hot-mess cleanup.   The results were an apple pie, pumpkin pie, and my all time favorite Apple Coffee Cake.  I’m just thankful I’m not making the whole Tday buffet!2015 moms all three done

It was Trainer Randy at 10am, a PB stop for work hours for next week AND a little ornament shopping, Holly Nails (it was past time), grocery shopping at Caputos (WHAT WAS I THINKING!!!!!!!!!), then home to see if I still had any baking MOJO left to make Mom’s pies.

2015 moms pie doughMom never used a silicone Roul’Pat, because it had not been introduced into the States at that time (1965), she used a Pie towel or a large cutting board to roll out her dough.  The Silpat was created by M. Guy Demarle, an experienced baker, in northern France.  Mom always used a wooden rolling pin with red handles. There must have been thousands of miles rolled out on that rolling pin.  As all good cooks do she stirred, with a wooden spoon, almost all her recipes.  She didn’t even use a whisk.   Well, not me.  I use all the conveniences I can muster out of my kitchen.  My whisk is considered one of the most important tools that I use, as is my Kitchenaide Mixer.

From all accounts of pie crust research, cold is best.  In fact, the colder the better.  My biggest complaint using pie dough has to do with placing it in the pie pan while it rips.  Enough said.  I used the Pyrex 9.5 inch pie plate.   The Pyrex Pie plate makes a deep large pie, so adjust all your recipes to a deep 10 inch.

Mom’s pie crust recipe makes REALLY flakey crust, a little too flakey.  Perhaps that’s because I used half butter and half Crisco baking sticks.  She only used Crisco and it did not come in convenient sticks back-in-the-day.  Honestly, after years of changing up the way I eat, any thought of lard in anything just slays me.  Perhaps that’s been my aversion to making the dough.

2015 moms apple peeler corer2015 moms apple peeler apple2015 moms aplle mess
I made the apple pie filling using my William Sonoma Peeler Corer – I used 12 apples in the recipe.  They were smaller Granny Smith apples. As you can see it makes quite a peeling mess and there’s juice involved too, so put a paper towel under the peeler.  The peeler corer process is easily faster when you have so many to peel.

2015 moms betty crocker apl recThe pie filling recipe came from my Betty Crocker cookbook.  My sister has my mother’s original cookbook (copyright 1950’s I think) and I have one my Aunt found for me (Copyright 1976).  Why that era? Because the recipes are so good!

2015 Moms Pie crust appleOn page 321 you’ll find the Fresh Fruit Pie recipes and I used the 10-inch one.  I’ll post below.  Be certain to read all the variations because when you get to the end it discusses Green Apple Pie.  Now, maybe someone can enlighten me, but aren’t all apple pies usually Granny Smith apples?

Just FYI, Mom always used a wash, whether an egg wash or milk on her pie crust.  Betty does not.  Mom said it made them shiney.  It’s always about the bling, isn’t it?

The 2015 moms apple and pump done 3best Pumpkin Pie recipe is on the back of the Libby can.  I used two cans (I doubled the recipe) but should have just gotten the larger can for a 10 inch pie.  There’s pumpkin left 2015 moms cake testerover after you fill up the pie shell.

Be sure to use a cake tester for doneness with the Pumpkin Pie.  I found my new one at William Sonoma and I think I picked up the last one.  It should come out clean. It took much longer to bake because it is so much larger and thicker. That’s why I depend  on my little cake tester.  Prescribed time is just a suggestion.  Baking depends on your oven and if you’ve altered the recipe – I made a larger pie filling.

And last but not least, the William Sonoma Spiced Apple Coffee Cake BEST. EVER. 

We get to try these later today.  I’ll fill you in on the results.

 

Betty Crocker 10-inch Apple Pie Recipe

  • Pastry for 10-inch Two-crust Pie
  • 1 1/4  cup sugar
  • 1/3 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 t nutmeg
  • 1 t cinnamon
  • Dash salt
  • 8 cups thinly sliced pared tart apples
  • 3 T butter or margarine
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • Turbinado Raw Sugar Cane to sprinkle

Heat oven to 425.  Stir together sugar, flour, nutmeg, cinnamon and salt; mix with apples.  Turn into pastry-lined pan; dot with butter.  Cover with top crust which has slits cut in it; seal and flute.  Using a pastry brush, brush the top crust and fluted edges with beaten egg wash and use sugar or Turbinado Raw Sugar Cane to sprinkle on the top.  Cover edge with 2 to 3 inch strips of aluminum foil to prevent excessive browning; remove foil the last 15 minutes of baking.

Bake 40 to 50 minutes or until crust is brown and juice begins to bubble through slits in the crust.

Leave a Reply

