Miss Mary · Recipes

Can’t Judge a Recipe by it’s Photo

With Memorial Day on the horizon, I wanted a grilling item to prepare for the weekend.  Prior to the holiday, my social media sites flare up with lots of recipes.  Regardless of where I pulled the Chili Lime Chicken recipe from it was the photo that caught my eye.  After reading the recipe it had two ingredients that I personally steer away from, jalapenos and cilantro.  I threw caution to the wind deciding something THAT good looking can’t be all about the heat or cilantro.

2015 CLC 4The recipe was on the Rasa Malaysia site, known for her Asian culinary skills.  She has 900 + recipes on her site.  Meijer had chicken thighs for $.98/lb. Who could pass that up?  The package was Costco size so I split it up, half to us and half to my son.

I did cut down on the cilantro.  I only used 1 tablespoon of finely chopped cilantro.  I did use BOTH jalapenos, seeded of course.  The hubs loves heat.  I figured if it was too spicy for me, he’d enjoy them.

So here’s a tip, when you’re shopping and you remember you have limes at home, think of their size.  This requires ½ a cup of fresh lime juice.  Yes, I had 6 small limes that after I juiced them barely passed the 1/3 cup line.  I added water to get to ½.  I did use the requisite zest.

2015 CLC 22015 CLC 1OH MY GOSH, it was delicious and no hint of heat or cilantro.  NOT KIDDING.  I was sweating, on the way home from work,  thinking about it because I am not a heat seeker what-so-ever.  I served it with a watermelon and feta salad.  I’ve made this side dish many times.  It reappeared on Facebook with mozzarella with the watermelon cut into the shapes of stars.  That was just so cute.

In the end, it was a very good meal.  One I’d make for guests often in the summer.

 

Chili Lime Chicken

  • 5 lbs skin on chicken thighs
  • 3 t. fresh lime zest
  • ½ cup fresh lime juice
  • ¼ c olive oil
  • 4 T fresh cilantro, finely chopped
  • 2 jalapenos, seeded and chopped finely
  • 4 garlic cloves, finely chopped
  • 1 T honey
  • 2 t kosher salt
  • 1 t chili powder, or to taste

Clean the chicken and pat dry.  I left the bones in.

2015 CLC 52015 CLC yUsing a 2 cup or larger bowl, whisk all the ingredients together.  The honey will fall to the bottom of your marinade so make sure you incorporate the honey into the marinade.

Place the chicken in freezer bags, they’re MUCH sturdier than regular Ziploc bags, and pour the marinade over them.  (I split mine into two bags)  Close the bag and coat well.  Place in the refrigerator for AT LEAST two hours, turning occasionally.  I left them overnight.

Grill till done.  The skin should be crisp.  Done is when clear juices run out when pierced by a knife.

Leave a Reply

