Managing diabetes · Miss Mary · Recipes

Recipe Rescue – what’s in your pantry?

2015 baby it's cold outsideI’m a lazy cook in the winter.  When I’m thinking of something for dinner I hope I have most of the stuff in the house, and it needs to be low-fat, low sodium, and it better darn well taste good.  Accidentally I found a wonderful Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup based on Alicia over at Posie Gets Cozy recommendation.  I don’t mind telling you, WOW was it good, even after I de-fatted it and low sodium-ed it.

Before I ventured into the kitchen I read the recipe over.  I determined I could customize it to my needs, no have to leave the house, AND I had most of the ingredients in the pantry and fridge.

So what does a lazy cook have in the pantry and fridge to help make meals work?  Boneless skinless roasted chicken breast already cooked and vacuumed packed at Costco.  Garlic that’s been skinned already – I get that at Caputos – it’s probably $1.69 for 5 heads that have been shucked.   Success brown rice where you just boil in a bag, or in this case in the broth.  Aldi’s low sodium chicken broth.  Petite carrots, celery that’s been cleaned and stored.  Onions already cleaned and stored in the fridge.  Skim milk just waiting to be used in any recipe.  Half and half, oh I know, but it’s not heavy cream!  (Just think, if I did as the recipe said – using whole milk and heavy cream – it’d be like overdosing.)  Um, I did use butter, so kill me.  The only thing I didn’t have, dried rosemary but I used Poultry Seasoning instead.  I always have lemons and limes in the fruit bowl, so that wasn’t a problem but to my surprise a little lemon zest in this soup was simply AMAZING.

I did however use the flour to make the roux, but I believe we could gluten free this baby by using cornstarch.  Next time I’ll get out that yellow Arrow tub and try it.

So here goes:  This recipe was originally from cookingclassy.com – you’re welcome.2015 lighter creamy chicken soup

Ingredients

  • 1 package Success brown rice, no, it’s not wild rice
  • 1 cup yellow onion, diced (If it’s a sweet onion, I use only half the onion.)
  • 1 cup carrots, diced (10-12 petite carrots)
  • 1 cup celery, diced (3 stalks)
  • 7 T butter
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 32 oz low-sodium chicken broth
  • ¼ tsp dried thyme
  • ¼ tsp marjoram
  • 1/8 tsp ground sage
  • ¼ tsp Poultry seasoning
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 ½ cups of diced roasted chicken breast
  • ½ cup flour
  • 1 ½ cups skim milk
  • ½ cup half n half
  • 1 tsp lemon zest

 

In a Dutch oven melt 1 T butter over medium heat.  Add onions, carrots, celery and garlic and saute until slightly tender.  Add broth, thyme, marjoram, sage, poultry seasoning and salt and pepper to taste.  Bring mixture to a boil.  Add the rice to reconstitute it.  Cook for about 10 minutes. Then add the chicken.

In a separate pan melt the remainder of the butter over medium heat.  Add flour and cook till well mixed, whisking constantly.  In a two cup liquid measure add the milks together.   Slowly pour milk mixture into the butter mixture while you continue to whisk (I know it’s difficult but keeping going).  Cook the mixture stirring constantly until it thickens.  Pour this mixture into the soup stirring to get everything mixed.

You’ll probably need to add about ½ cup of water as the soup starts to thicken.    Keep stirring as it could burn on the bottom.  When you have this beautiful soup all finished just use your rasp and a clean lemon and zest away.  YOU WILL NOT BELIEVE YOUR TASTE BUDS.  Never did I believe this would really enhance the flavor of the soup.  Fantastic.

When everything was mixed I turned the soup off and put the lid on it to wait till dinner.  Took me about 30 minutes from beginning to end.

One more thing, I believe that marjoram is the oft forgotten herb.  I’d forgotten how good it tastes in soups and stews.

So there you go.  Lovely dinner – thanks so much my friend Alicia from Posie Gets Cozy.  I do find great dinner ideas on your site.

Leave a Reply

