Inspire

That mind thing

2013 devil“Your body can stand almost anything, it’s your mind you have to convince.”

Not going to lie, it’s tough mentally to come back from an injury.  {Fell on backside at work – it’s taken three to four weeks to feel normal.}  What was easy is now a mental challenge.  It’s that constant battle of quitting or continuing that’s going on in your head at lightening speed.  Back and forth, like a video game, because you can’t focus on what needs to be done.  I HATE IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!  I just want it, my mind, to shut up and go along with the program.

I’d been doing a 30 minute program on the stationary bike for cardio days.  Today was the first day back trying to physically complete that routine.  Even after the injury I’d bike normally without the high intensity intervals.   Twelve minutes in today and my mind is telling me, “Get off this Machine!!!!!!”.  It’s flipping hot in the gym, too many people around me, not enough water to last, will my legs make it, –just every stupid thing there was crossed my mind.

I made it to 21 minutes then hopped on the treadmill for 15 with 20 push ups every 3 minutes.   I wasn’t going to give up on the rest of the cardio plan.

Well, honestly, it wasn’t just the injury that’s been weighing on my workouts.  My Trainer has opened his own studio.  It’s called CrossKicks.   I’m so proud of him.  He is such an elite trainer.  But it’s a devastating blow to go in one day and find out that he’s not there.  Here’s a man whom has helped me to gain the strength in my legs to walk normal, or as close to normal as possible.  I’ve always encouraged him to create his life, in fact I lent him a book on entrepreneurial people some time ago because I saw in him the ability to do more.

I need to be more resilient in many aspects of what I do.  Today’s challenge was a test, while I didn’t make it to 30 on the bike, I switched it over to the treadmill and was then rescued by Dippin Doggies when Daisy was finished.  I burned 330 calories, 30% fat, in 43 minutes.  I’ll take it.  Lets just kick that little red devil in the butt a few times and see how she likes it, eh?

Leave a Reply

