Miss Mary · Recipes

Summer Gazpacho and only 105 calories!!!!!

securedownload

This past weekend I had lunch at Benedict’s in Crystal Lake.  They had one of my VERY favorite soups, Gazpacho.  I’ve made it before but didn’t have all the ingredients in the fridge. Gazpacho is light, delicious and filling.

After my workout today I just had to make it.  I headed over to Aldi because they carry SimplyNature products hoping I could find a low sodium tomato juice.  Didn’t but they had all the veggies!  It cost me $8.40 which is $1.05 per serving – just incase you’re watching your pennies.

You can see it makes two large containers.  It’s made in your blender or food processor.  I based it off of Ina Garten’s recipe after a google search for a lighter faire but I changed it because of what I had in my cupboard and I didn’t use as much salt.  She makes me a wee bit anxious over her salt usage.

You’ll need:

  • Food processor or blender
  • Extra large glass bowl to mix it all in
  • Large ladle
  • 2 qt containers to store it in.

Ingredients

  • 4 plum tomatoes, quartered
  • 1 hothouse cucumber, or 3 small ones, chopped into 3/4 inch pieces
  • 2 red sweet peppers, I used a red and a yellow.  You could use green.  Cut up in 1 inch pieces
  • 1/2 of a red onion, sliced.
  • 48 ounce can of tomato juice, you’ll only use half of it or a little more
  • 1/4 cup red wine vinegar
  • 1/4 cup extra light olive oil, Bertolli
  • 1 tsp. black pepper
  • 1 tsp. kosher salt

Using your blender/processor, add your cucumbers, peppers, onion, and garlic and 1/4 of the tomato juice and blend it all.  You should have maybe half of the blender full.  Add all the tomatoes and blend again.  When finished pour the mixture into your extra large glass bowl.

Add the red wine vinegar, extra light olive oil, another 1/4 of the tomato juice, pepper, and salt.  Using a whisk, whisk all the ingredients together to mix the oil and vinegar into the mixture.   If you think you need a little more tomato juice just add it.  You should have about 2 cups remaining of the tomato juice.

Ladle it into your containers (from Cassandra’s Kitchen) and refrigerate the gazpacho to the meld the flavors.  IT’S AMAZING!!!!!!  And perfect for a summer day after your workout.

Now, you can add any veggie you’d like, maybe zucchini or black olives.  Also, if you have some elderly tomatoes in your keeper, use them.  Some folks like jalapenos, not me.  No heat for me.

The Nutrition Facts came from MyFitnessPal.com for 1 cup.  One of the reasons I LOVE MyFitnessPal.

Nutrition Facts

Servings 8.0
Amount Per Serving
Calories 105

Total Fat 7 g
Saturated Fat 1 g
Monounsaturated Fat 5 g
Polyunsaturated Fat 1 g
Trans Fat 0 g
Cholesterol 0 mg
Sodium 536 mg
Potassium 348 mg 1
Total Carbohydrate 9 g
Dietary Fiber 2 g
Sugars 6 g
Protein 2 g
Vitamin A 15%
Vitamin C 65 %
Calcium 3 %
Iron 3 %

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Summer Gazpacho and only 105 calories!!!!!

Leave a Reply

