Managing diabetes · Miss Mary · Recipes

I’m a smoothie holdout

2014 smoothie4I’m a smoothie holdout.  I like my yogurt, fruit, flax seed and cup of coffee in the forming.  I didn’t have the verve to research smoothies for a meal supplement.  But for my birthday I received a Magic Bullet from my BFF.  Tada, it’s here.  It comes in a huge box with quite a few attachments.  When you open the box you’re a bit mystified at all the components, but really it’s not that much when you realize you need the blade, a cup and the motor.  The book that came along didn’t really have much in the line of “healthy” smoothies so I went online looking for something to try.

Hello Skinny Ms. There are several detox, healthy, load-em-up organic smoothies to choose from that if you have the ingredients in your kitchen, you’re on your way sista.  I tried this one this morning.  I stuffed everything into one of the cups, which I realized I needed a much larger cup.  I didn’t have the parsley but it turned out ok.  I had to unload and blend a few times.  It turned out ok for a newbie.

2014 smoothie2Cleanse & Detox Smoothie

Yields: 1 smoothie,  Calories: 189, Total Fat: 3.0 g, Saturated Fat: 0 g, Trans Fat: 0 g, Cholesterol: 0 mg, Sodium: 59 mg, Carbohydrates: 39.5 g – Dietary Fiber: 11.3 g = Net Carbs: 28.2, Sugars: 20.9 g, Protein: 5.6 g

Ingredients

Recommend organic apple, kale and celery be used for this recipe.

  • 1 organic apple with peeling, cored (Washes away harmful toxins in the body)
  • Juice of 1 lemon, strained  (This citrus fruit helps boosts the digestive tract)
  • 1 cup kale (Chlorophyll kick starts the digestive tract by ridding the body of pesticides and environmental toxins)
  • 1 celery stalk  (Thought to be a great blood cleanser)
  • 1/3 cup flat leaf parsley or cilantro (Thought to help rid the body of mercury and other harmful minerals)
  • 1 tablespoon ground flax seeds or chia seeds (Great source of Omega-3’s and ridding the body of harmful toxins)
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1 1/4 cups chilled water

Directions

Add all the above ingredients to a blender and blend until smooth. This recipe makes one serving.

The bullet was very easy to use.  Draw back, don’t fill it so full.  Use the next size up cup.

2014 smoothieThe side affects of the Bullet, the sound of the Bullet sent Daisy into the den to hang out with the hubs.  Daisy is as far back in the corner as possible.  As far as filling you up, it’s just different.  I don’t know how to explain it, other than it’s not oatmeal or yogurt.  Takes me some time to get it all down.  It did taste good.

I want to point out there are NET CARBS here.  Everything is natural and as organic as possible.  So the fiber is always subtracted from the carb count giving you NET CARBS.  That’s a good thing.  I try to keep my net carbs to 40 per meal.

Addressing the sugar:  the sugar in this drink, while high, it’s all-natural, not sugar in the form of corn syrup, granulated sugar, or artificial sugars. That’s a great thing as it digests slower not causing real high spikes in your blood sugars, just incase you’re watching that sort of thing.

So for the first try, lessons learned.

We’ll see how this goes.

Leave a Reply

