Miss Mary · Recipes

A Few of My Favorite Things

2014 my fav 5I have a few favorite things that help me all throughout the day.  One of them is My Fitness Pal and the other is Cassandra’s Kitchen with her containers.  Also, one of my very favorite things are the little people in my neighborhood.  See what they made for us.  SO DARN CUTE!!!!!!  We seem to get one of these each year.  Last year it had a hat, nose, eyes and buttons.

2014 my fav 1I make many of my recipes and My Fitness Pal allows me to enter them into my database after it calculates the Calories, Carbs, Fat, Protein, Sodium and Sugars.  The latest recipe was my Chicken Chili with Chili Seasonings.

The Chili Seasoning makes about 12 Tablespoons.2014 my fav 4

  • 4 T. chili powder
  • 1 t. garlic powder
  • 1 t. onion powder
  • 1 t. crushed red pepper flakes
  • ¼ t. cayenne
  • 2 t. paprika
  • 2 T. cumin
  • 3 t. kosher salt
  • 4 t. black pepper

Mix all the ingredients and store in an air tight container.  Use at will.

Chicken Chili makes 8 – 1 cup servings

Sauté in a Dutch oven, the ground chicken, garlic, and onion in 2 T. Extra Light Virgin Olive Oil until meat no longer has any pink, stirring often.  Add the chilies, kidney beans, tomatoes and broth.  Let it cook for about 5 minutes.  Stir in the spices and let it simmer for 20 minutes.

Calories 217, Carbs 26, Fat 7, Protein 24, Sodium 498, Sugars 6

2014 my fav 22014 my fav 3One of my favorite helpers in the kitchen are the containers that I order from Cassandra’s Kitchen.   Ina Garten uses these containers in her show  to store just about everything she  makes.  She also has a Pinterest board on Kitchen Essentials where you’ll see the plastic containers, or what I like to call my wish list. These are the only containers that I tell my kids to return to me.  For Christmas I gave my daughter a set.    I’ve been using them for about three years now.  This Christmas  I was running low and ordered three sets.  Here’s information from the listing:

  • FDA Compliant Polypropylene and Polyethylene
  • BPA Free
  • Leak-Resistant
  • Clear Lids
  • Stackable Lids and Bases
  • Reusable
  • Withstands temperatures from 0 to 250 Degrees F
  • Refrigerator, Freezer and Dishwasher Safe
  • Available in 8 oz., 16 oz. and 32 oz. sizes

ONE LAST FAVORITE, the Pelonis heater in the den.  Our den is so COLD that your feet and hands just can’t get warm.  We have the HF 63 model.  Thank heavens.

Leave a Reply

