Miss Mary · Recipes

What’s for Dinner: Making ground turkey tolerable

2014 Turkey meatloaf1Can you tell by the title that I am not a fan of ground turkey?  Not. A. Fan.

Having said that I think I really found a pretty good hybrid turkey meatloaf recipe with a few healthier additions of my own.  I really liked the end result and it was super simple to make, plop in the oven and go about doing other things.  Just the way I like it.  My husband ate 2 slices which never happens.  He is not a fan of meatloaf period.

I took about 15 minutes to search for a decent recipe on the internet and found it on the Jennie – o site.  I checked out Ina Gartens but she made it for like 60 people and honestly, sometimes everything doesn’t need thyme added to it.  Reading over Ellie Krieger’s recipe well it just did not appeal to me.

I used Jennie-Os basic recipe but subtracted certain things and added more herbs and spices.  It was a building block with nutritional information.  I was able to cut 8 slices but most people eat 2 slices so then it would only serve 4.  When there’s only two of us in the house that works.  I had one slice.

Better Tasting Turkey Meatloaf

  • 2 tablespoons butter or margarine
  • 3/4 cup chopped onion
  • 3 cloves garlic minced
  • 1 (20-ounce) package JENNIE-O® Lean Ground Turkey – next time I’ll get the Aldi brand ground turkey
  • ½ cup Whole Wheat Panko
  • 1 egg
  • ¼ cup ketchup
  • 2 teaspoons Worcestershire sauce
  • ½ teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • ¼ teaspoon ground fennel
  • 2 teaspoons oregano
  • ¼ cup grated parmesan cheese
  • salt, if desired

Heat oven to 350ºF.   Melt butter in a small skillet over medium-high heat.  Add onion and garlic; cook 5 minutes, stirring occasionally. Cool 5 minutes.

2014 Turkey meatloaf 22014 Turkey meatloaf3Add ground turkey, breadcrumbs, egg, ketchup, Worcestershire sauce, pepper, fennel, oregano, parmesan cheese, and salt, if desired to turkey mixture; mix well.  Add the onion mixture.

Press into 8 x 4-inch loaf pan.  Sprinkle oregano over the top of the turkey.  Bake 1 hour or until the internal temperature of meatloaf is well-done, 165ºF.

Leave a Reply

