Inspire

Over coming challenges, one little thing at a time.

2013 ChallengesIt began in March of this year where I was asked by my trainer to get on the floor.  I told him I hadn’t been on the floor since June 26, 2012 (my double knee replacement surgery) because if I got on the floor, I probably couldn’t get up.  Something so simple was so unbelievably difficult.

I did get on the floor and then had to figure out how to get up.  Wasn’t easy, but it ended up being a turn over into a full pushup and then walk myself up from there. It took a long time. You could see that my trainer may have thought we should have done this a little further down the road.   As I became stronger, I was able to do it somewhat faster.

Two weeks ago Tony asked me if there was anything he could help me with in performing exercises I was doing.  We went over a few.  But I took a week to think about what he could help me do.  He could help me figure out how to get up off the floor like everyone else.

The look on his face was priceless when I asked him to help me figure it out.  You could see the science of physical anatomy and kinesiology run through his thought process as we broke down how to stand up.  Physically trying to do this was the most awkward retrain-the-brain and body you’d ever watch.  We took about eight minutes to get it down so I was confident this was how I could do better to get to standing.  My homework was to practice this so I nail it this Wednesday

Yesterday I made a conscious effort to get on the floor and up with my exercise routine.  Sixteen times up and down y’all.  Talk about feeling pumped.

For those of you that have had to go through physical therapy and your insurance dictates the number of times you can receive therapy, working out with a trainer, under your doctor’s or PT’s supervision, is really the way to go.  For me, it’s strength issues in both legs.  I’m also relearning the simple things that we take for granted.

I follow Joel Osteen and I love his positive approach to life.  The other day he posted this on Facebook, “The more difficult something is, the more God is going to multiply you. You’re not going to come out the same. You’re going to come out better than you were before.”  I believe all of us who are on this journey to better health will see this happen.

Leave a Reply

