Miss Mary · Recipes

Throwback Thursday – Pumpkin Praline Squares

2013 Pumpkin bars3Throwback Thursday means many things, but the essence is to reach back into time to bring forward memories of our lives.  Charlean Grobe married my mother’s cousin Bob.  I remember at Thanksgiving and Christmas when Charlean would always bring these amazing Pumpkin Squares.  Wow were they ever good.  You can imagine all the little faces looking over the desert table with my mother’s pies and Charlean’s pumpkin squares.

I messaged her on Facebook and asked if she would share the recipe.   And there it was in a day or two.  I’m making them as part of the fall baking theme just so I can get all my baking out of me.  The Algonquin Quilters Guild will get a taste of these tonight.

I’m making a double batch.  I’d like to use a little Almond flour but think I’m going to stay true to the recipe since I can experiment on others later.

** After making these and doubling the recipe, I forgot to add the 2nd can of evaporated milk.  They came out fine.  Also, line the bottom of your oven with foil because it will drip.  Another tip:  Pumpkin Pie spice is not enough if you’re thinking of replacing the spices.  It does not have ground cloves in it.  Just use what’s listed which will give you a guaranteed delicious desert with a very fragrant kitchen.

Charlean’s Pumpkin Squares

Preheat oven to 350°.

Crust

  • 1 cup flour
  • ½ cup quick Rolled Oats
  • ½ cup brown sugar
  • ½ cup butter, room temperature

Mix in your large mixer with the paddle until crumbly.  Press into ungreased 9×13 pan.  Bake for 15 minutes.

Pie Filling

  • 1 ib. can pumpkin
  • 1 13oz. evaporated milk, I’m using the fat free Carnations brand.
  • 2 eggs, room temperature
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp. ginger
  • 1/4 tsp. cloves

Using your mixer and the paddle, combine and beat well. Pour into baked crust and bake at 350° for 20.min.

2013 Pumpkin bars12013 Pumpkin bars2Praline Topping

  • 1/2 cup chopped pecans
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 2 tablespoons butter

Combine ingredients.  Sprinkle over pumpkin filling. Return to oven and bake for 15 to 20 minutes or until firm. Cool in pan and cut into squares.

Leave a Reply

