Miss Mary · Recipes

Slow Cooker “lighter” Chicken Tortilla Soup

I’m not one to use my slow cooker unless I’m away all day.  I asked a friend what was her favorite slow cooker recipe and she said Chicken Tortilla Soup.  I looked it up on the Fix-It and Forget-It site by Phyllis Good, a woman known for her prolific slow cooker recipes with several cookbooks to her claim.  I found one that was revised to be lighter in calories.

The recipe uses low sodium as much as you can find sauce, beans, and stewed tomatoes.  It takes a while to find these cuties.  I did not find a low sodium Rotel tomatoes.  I used a Delmonte low sodium stewed tomato with peppers.

It’s a day that I’m working all day with no time after to make anything nor probably feel like making anything.  I’ll be getting home around 7pm and wanting to ice I’m sure.

I have it all set up and ready to turn it on when I leave.  I’ll update tonight.  It looks good.

2013 SC Chicken Tortilla Soup2013 SC Chicken Torilla Soup 2

Chicken Tortilla Soup
Fix-It and Forget-It Lightly Revised and Updated, pg. 197

Makes 8 servings
Prep. Time: 5-10 minutes
Cooking Time: 8 hours
Ideal slow-cooker size: 4- to 5-qt.

Ingredients:
4 uncooked boneless, skinless chicken breast halves
2 15-oz. cans black beans, undrained
2 15-oz. cans low-sodium Mexican stewed tomatoes, or Rotel tomatoes
1 cup low-sodium salsa (mild, medium, or hot, whichever you prefer)
4-oz. can chopped green chilies,undrained
14½-oz. can low-sodium tomato sauce
baked tortilla chips
2 cups grated fat-free cheese

1. Combine all ingredients except chips and cheese in slow cooker.
2. Cover. Cook on Low 8 hours, or just until chicken is cooked through but isn’t dry.
3. Just before serving, remove chicken breasts and slice into bite-sized pieces. Stir into soup.
4. To serve, put a handful of tortilla chips in each individual soup bowl. Ladle soup over chips. Top with shredded cheese of your choice.

Per Serving:
330 calories (20 calories from fat), 2.5g total fat (0g saturated, 0g trans), 35mg cholesterol, 1760mg sodium, 55g total carbohydrate (10g fiber, 15g sugar), 28g protein, 10%DV vitamin A, 15%DV vitamin C, 10%DV calcium, 10%DV iron

***   UPDATE

The soup was good and it makes a lot.

2013 Chicken Tortilla Soup 5 2013 CTS 6

One thought on “Slow Cooker “lighter” Chicken Tortilla Soup

Leave a Reply

