Recipes

Finding a lucious cream cheese frosting.

2013 Fall Baking4My baking muse lives in England but she’s as close as Facebook or her two cook books I have.  I’ve never tasted her bakery goods, except for the ones that I’ve made (OMG they’re good!), but the beauty and artistry that she applies to her career is just over-the-top.  Peggy Porschen and her team of wonderment create works of art.  (sigh)

If you’ve noticed, I have not written much about cake making or cookie rolling this summer as I’ve really said no to everyone due to wanting to lose weight.  As you can imagine, the fun part of baking is the tasting.  With cookies it’s just WAY too easy to eat them.  I absolutely have no control.  Therefore, I best leave things be.

But at work tomorrow we have an event and I raised my hand to make something.  Since it is fall I chose a wonderful tasting and amazing aromatic spice cake.  We call it frosted creams.  I wrote about it a while back. (October 12, 2011 to be exact.)  I thought it would be fairly easy to make the mini-cupcakes.  There’s a lot of dough and I ended up getting rid of some of the dough because I didn’t want to make more than 48.

2013 Fall BakingI didn’t have a fantastic buttercream recipe so I turned to Peggy.   From her Boutique Baking book she had several to choose from but the overarching theme was cream cheese in almost all of them.  You do however have to convert from grams to the imperial measurements though.   It’s so simple.

I used the Vanilla Chiffon Cupcake frosting recipe.

  • 200g full-fat cream cheese (8 oz.) –  I used 1/3 less fat
  • 200g unsalted butter, softened (2 sticks)  – I used salted
  • 500g confectioners’ sugar, sifted (4 cups) – didn’t sift
  • Seeds of ½ of a vanilla pod
  • (I added a pinch of salt, my bad.)

Place the cream cheese in a mixing bowl and beat until smooth and creamy.

Place the butter, confectioners’ sugar and the vanilla seeds in a separate mixing bowl and cream together until very pale and fluffy.

Add the cream cheese, a little at a time, to the butter mixture and mix at medium-high speed until the frosting is combined.

With buttercream, you have to store it in the fridge.  It will get soft on you quickly.  I didn’t pipe the frosting, just used a small palette knife to apply he frosting to the little cakes.  Don’t they look amazing?  They actually are good.

2013 Fall Baking22013 Fall Baking3

Leave a Reply

