Recipes

Baking Time of Year

2013 KH PBIt’s that time of year that I love to whip out all those favorite baking recipes I’ve collected just to make the house smell like Frosted Creams or Pumpkin Bread.  This year I thought I’d reach out to a few others to search for other fall favorites.

Kim Hansen, of Fitness 19 fame,  gave me her mother’s Pumpkin Bread recipe.  She tells me you have to freeze it and then eat it later.  I’ll be using the bread for the S’more party coming up in a few weeks.

I made this over the weekend and I have to say, the batter was delicious.  It has to be the orange juice.  I took a little sliver of an end and it was delicious.  It’s now in the freezer and I gave a loaf to Kim.

I can’t say enough about FRESH nutmeg.  See how easy it is to grate it and the TASTE is out of this world.  Not hard to do.  I picked up my nutmeg at Caputos.

Leslie Forehand’s Pumpkin Bread Recipe

  • 3 1/2 cups flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 2 teaspoons salt (I don’t use)
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 1/2 teaspoon ginger
  • 3 cups sugar
  • 1 cup salad oil
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 can puree pumpkin
  • 2/3 cup orange juice, milk, or water
  • 1 1/2 cup raisins (optional)
  • 1 1/2 cup nuts (optional)

2013 KH PB3 2013 KH PB2Combine flour, soda, salt, baking powder, cinnamon, nutmeg, and ginger mixing well; set aside.  In another large bowl beat together sugar and oil; add eggs one at a time.  Stir in pumpkin and orange juice.  Blend in dry ingredients.  Stir in raisins and nuts.

Turn into 2 well greased loaf pans 9″x5″x3″.  Let stand at least 20 minutes before  baking (An important step!)  Bake in 325 degrees oven for 1 hour and 15 minutes or until done (usually just 1 hour, oven dependent).

2013 KH PB4 2013 KH PB 42013 KH PB 5Let stand in pans 5 minutes, then turn out on racks to cool.  Freeze if desired.

From Kim:  My 2 cents:  make the bread ahead of time and freeze it. Wrap it in a layer of saran wrap, then foil.  When it thaws the top of the bread get yummy gooey…the longer it sits the gooier it gets.  It never sits around my kitchen too long…yum!  Although even if it’s not frozen the top will get softer and sweeter as the days pass.

 

Leave a Reply

