Recipes

Getting a jump on the week ahead.

I wanted to be prepared for this week as it’s really busy for me.  I planned my meals for the week so I’m not caught off guard.  I chose the spring Taste of Home Diabetes Family Friendly Cookbook to see if I could find a few new recipes.  We tried two this evening.

Taste of Home is a recipe magazine product that quite frankly doesn’t do much for lighter meals.  I’ve purchased the regular magazine where everything is not healthy.  This move from the norm to write a diabetic recipe cookbook was interesting.  They’re known for wonderful casseroles, marvelous desserts and buttered anything.  Titles such as “No-Fuss Comfort Food”, which is a dead ringer for many to look the other way, really should have made me think twice.  I guess I didn’t see Taste of Home on it.  I picked it up at Costco after thumbing through it for a few minutes.  What attracted me to the magazine was “diabetes” in 2.5 inch blue Times New Roman font.  I’m thinking it was Diabetic Living.

If there’s anything that my husband loves it is French’s French Fried Onions.  I think he’d eat ice cream with a few sprinkles on it.  I thought for sure The Crunchy Onion Barbecue Chicken would be a something he’d like as long as he didn’t see the fried onions before they went into the oven first.

2013 TH DM12013 TH DM4I have to say it is a very simple recipe.  Hubs asked to have another piece of chicken.  Would I make it again, no.  I just didn’t like the taste.  It was well within my calorie intake (4 ounces), 188 calories, 6 g fat, 332 mg sodium, 6 g carbs, 24 g protein.

I did however make the Almond  coleslaw from the magazine too, but only half the recipe.  It was ok.  Hubs asked if there were nuts in it.

2013 TH DM32013 TH DM5

I’m going to try their flank steak recipe tomorrow.  It needs to marinate for at least 8 hours, then grill it.  It’s good to plan.  Makes grocery shopping much easier.

Leave a Reply

