Miss Mary

To the fashion world, JUST DO IT.

I’m ranting and I apologize but when you are looking for active wear that you need and cannot find, I become frustrated beyond measure.  I don’t like to shop, and I don’t like to spend time online to shop because it’s a huge waste of time.  I want buyers to really look at the customer reviews of their products and realize that this is what your customer really likes and wants to keep buying.  The real rub is that plus size active wear is lackluster at best.

2013 ON sports pantsI’m a special needs buyer.  Because of my knees I can’t have anything tight around them so the compression style exercise capri and pant don’t work for me.  Compress styles torque my knees.  Honestly, who the hell wants to look like they’ve been poured into a sausage casing?

I look for the wide leg exercise pant.  Old Navy used to have capris and I love them.  But with a 4 ½ star rating they no longer carry them.   (head in hands swaying back and forth)  I’m also fussy, I really can’t stand the roll over yoga pant.  It always feels like it’s going to fall off and you’re CONSTANTLY ADJUSTING2013 underarmor top.  When you have a job to do in the gym, or you’re in the grocery store, or taking a walk it is so unattractive and time consuming to constantly adjust.

After shopping at Dicks, Target, Kohls and a few others looking for fitness tops, the sizes and fit have NO consistency.   I really love my Under Armor top and went looking for something similar.  I like a scooped out neckline or a V neckline.  I would love to wear a racerback top but supportive bras for racerbacks are few and far between at a reasonable price.

Now for sports bras.  As a decreasing plus size woman, “ #$@  %^&*  ^^” !!!!!!!!!!!!!!  Ok, sorry.  Under Armor makes sports bras but they only go up to a size 38.  But they do have a good video on how to find your size AND they do make cup size ones too.   Size restriction isn’t helpful.  There are a lot of women who are plus sized who do work out.  Just saying.  Ditto on Nike (up to 38 with very little support) and Champion (XXL – Target the $16.99 has no support ).

I’ve always purchased the Cacique cotton ones at Lane Bryant thinking they were the sports bra.  No they’re not.  I seriously thought that the massive amounts of cotton bras in the store were a tribute to the numbers of women working out in the gym.  I was awakened to how wrong I was this morning when I was researching for this article.  They do have a few sports bras but Holy Moses, $50?

Back to fussy, I don’t like underwire on me in the gym.   It’s too much wearable gear to support the girls especially when you wear a heart rate monitor, not to mention poking or moving.  It’s difficult to concentrate when you’re self-conscience.

This is the dearth that Tim Gunn addresses in plus sized clothing.  Options are limited or non existent.  From Tim himself, “Go to Lord & Taylor on Fifth Avenue [New York], I think it’s the eighth floor, and it’s just a department called ‘Woman.’ It’s rather devastating. You’ve never seen such hideous clothes in your entire life. I mean, it’s simply appalling. Thank God there are no windows on that floor, because if I were a size 18, I’d throw myself right out the window [after seeing those clothes]. It’s insulting what these designers do to these women.”  Merci Tim, je vous adore.

2013 Do it nowI’m adding my voice to this too.  While the entire plus size / petite world of fashion need to be addressed, you need to add the active wear too.  We do exercise, we do sweat, we do run, walk, lift weights, participate in Crossfit, Bodypump, yoga, aerobic classes, and bootcamps.  We too want to look good but don’t want the fitness wear to fall off of us if we turn upside down.  So to the powers-that-be at Under Armor, Nike, Champion, and others, Just Do It.

Leave a Reply

