Miss Mary · Recipes

Taking the guess work out of rubs.

2013 Rubs 1How many times have you stood in the spice isle or the spice curve at William Sonoma wondering what that rub tastes like?  I’ve done that plenty of times.  I’ve purchased a few but were disappointed in the high salt content, or awkward taste.

Well thank you to Steven Raichlen who wrote the “How to Grill” book where he provides several rub recipes and how to grill.  This is my go to grill book.  There are plenty of recipes with marinades that are fantastic with sauces for every occasion.  I must confess, I am not a “sauce” girl.

Steven attacks fish, pizza, and all types of meats, vegetables and desserts.  He’s a not a fearful weenie griller at all.

Let’s get back to rubs.  A rub can cost you a lot – $12.50 to $14.00 in a 3 oz. can, or $27.95 for 4 – 1.5 oz. cans.  The can is attractive, labeled, but not taste tested.  The risk is you putting that rub on your $30 worth of Labor Day ribs.  I don’t like to gamble either.

I now make my own versatile rub and it lasts forever.  I use Steven’s Basic Barbecue Rub and add a few other things like onion flakes and dried oregano.  You can then take your rub, and for whatever you are grilling, add other spices to the mix – like cumin.

In the rub that I make I lower the salt content.  Instead of the 4 Tablespoons of salt, I use only 2 of sea salt.

Basic Barbecue Rub

  • ¼ cup firmly packed brown sugar
  • ¼ cup sweet paprika
  • 3 T black pepper
  • 3 T sea salt
  • 1 T hickory-smoked salt or more coarse salt
  • 2 t garlic powder
  • 2 t onion powder
  • 2 t celery seeds
  • 1 t cayenne pepper (I used ¼ teaspoon)

** Not in the original recipe

  • 1 T onion flakes
  • 1 T dried oregano

2013 Rub 5Mix all your ingredients and place into an airtight tin.  Lasts up to 6 months.

2013 Rubs 2I grilled pork tenderloins using this rub.  I placed 3 Tablespoons in a glass receptacle then added 1 teaspoon of cumin.  Mixed all that together then rolled the patted dry tenderloins in the rub.  I made sure it was all over.  Indirect heat and grill 8 minutes each side till done.  Internal temp should reach 160.

Looks amazing and tastes fantastic.

2013 Rub 3

Leave a Reply

