Inspire · Miss Mary

Here’s an online option for what to eat when engaged in weight loss

2013 BFLFor years I’ve / we’ve followed the Body for Life  (BLF) eating plan.  It’s very basic and incorporates protein, dairy, complex carbohydrates and healthy fats.

If you’re preparing for a September challenge, remember there’s 2 out there right now, 4 weeks with Katie and Kristin, and a twelve week at Fitness 19 in Algonquin, you can use what you’ve been doing or change it up with Body for Life. (BLF)

It’s six small meals spaced out through the day.  Breakfast, mid-morning, lunch, mid-day, dinner and something in the evening.

BLF offers meal plans, recipes, and food lists on their website.  TIP: “Do all your shopping on Sunday, and you’ll be set for the week,”  Body-for-LIFE Champion Pam Hickerson suggests.

I am a diabetic and have to restrict my carbs at each meal.  I strive for 40 carbs per meal.  Rice is not a diabetics friend.  It’s the way it is processed through the body.  For me, it’s always about the numbers.  The offerings of whole wheat pasta and rice are not used much in my meals.  There are times when I will have it but rarely.

When you look at their meal plans you’ll see the EAS bars and shakes.  I always eat my bar 30 minutes before a work out.  My husband always drinks his shake after the workout because it helps repair muscles.  I don’t do both, I should.  My  bad.  I eat the EAS Lean 15 with 15 g protein.  I pick them up at Target.  Walmart used to have them but they only carry the shakes now.

I printed out the food list and have it on the fridge as a reminder of what we can have.

And there’s something new out there, hydration.  It’s beyond the 8 – 8 oz of water per day, it’s now half your body weight in ounces of water per day.  So I drink 4 – 24 ounces of water a day.  Seems like a lot, but it’s not.  Just at the gym I drink one down in no time.  Also, Eliza will remind you at intervals to get an 8 ouncer down throughout the day.

But a meal plan must be combined with a fitness plan.  BLF has one, your local gym has something, Skinny Ms.  has a ton of them and you can follow them on FB.   With BLF you’re in the gym 6 days a week with Sunday as your rest day – that’s from food and exercise.

2013 fitness motivationSeptember is a good month to start.  You have a week to really prepare.  Cleanse your pantry, fridge and freezer.  It takes 21 days to change a habit.  This could be your opportunity.  You’re investing in your future health.  I’m really shooting for 20 pounds by the end of the year.

You also need motivational tidbits.  Follow Katie Marie, Trainer Tony, Skinny Ms. Fitness, Eliza’s Journey, and a million others.

Ps, this picture is from Arizona Foothills Fitness.  I laughed when I read it.

Leave a Reply

