Inspire · Miss Mary

Twenty-one and counting

Twenty-one days to go and I am at 53% of my goal on Katie Marie’s DietBet challenge.  That’s 5.4 pounds in a week – think 5 and a half boxes of butter – that’s almost seven batches of my sugar cookies.

2013 underarmor topOne of the advantages of losing weight is picking out new clothes, even for exercise.  Check out this Under Armor top.  The back is vented.  I thought I needed sleeveless tops to exercise in because I get SO sweaty.  This top is SO light weight.

I stuck to the strategies.  I worked out 4 of the 7 days with several 20 minute walks on the days off.    Found out that my portable cup was a 24 oz. type which means I’ve been drinking almost 100 oz. of water a day.

I used the My Fitness Pal app which will help you stay on track.  There’s an advantage when you add in your exercises – it will show you what you have earned in calories as well.  You can save those for snacks or an extra protein or fruit.

2013 diet cokeI’ve stayed off the diet soda but have to tell you that I had a WEakkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkk moment on Friday night after I worked a five hour shift that was just crazy busy at PB.  Came home, iced, and had my first 12 oz. can in two full weeks.   That was it, I was fine.  I’ve had my water or iced tea with no sweetener.  I’m not a sugar fan in drinks.

The diet plan has changed slightly.  It’s GO LEAN AND GREEN after 12 noon.  This means no processed or starchy carbs.  So if you enjoy your corn and potato, eat it early at lunch – but that’s your carb for your meal.  I count 40 carbs per meal.   I know it’s a pain to count, but believe me when you understand portions, carbs and net carbs, the process gets much easier.  Especially with My Fitness Pal.  It counts it all for you.

So what’s a day look like food wise?

  • 7am – 8 am:  1 – 6 oz. Chobani Greek lowfat yogurt with 1 tablespoon milled flaxseed.
  • First 24 oz of water
  • 10 am:  EAS Lean 15 Chocolate Peanut Butter Protein Bar.
  • Second 24 oz of water
  • 12 Noon:    3 – 4 oz leftover protein from the night before, salad with an avocado dressing or my own dressing, fruit OR 3-4 oz leftover protein in a sandwich made of the thin
  • Second  24 oz of water
  • 3pm:   Fruit, 2 cheese sticks or protein
  • 3rd 24 oz of water
  • 6pm:   3-4 oz. protein, green veggies, fruit.
  • 4th 24 oz of water
  • Snack:  Fruit

Protein choices:  eggs, chicken, lean beef, pork, fish

Process carb choices:  Brownberry Sandwich thins,  Good for Life Ezekiel bread (sprouted 100% whole grain) at Trader Joes – they have several varieties, any of the Healthy Living breads or buns.

Veggies:  peppers, broccoli, asparagus, spinach, romaine lettuce, tomatoes, peas, cabbage, celery, zucchini, cucumbers onions, green beans, cauliflower, mushrooms.

Good carbs:  baked potato, sweet potato (better for you), kidney, pinto or black beans – low sodium, melon, apple, strawberries, blueberries, watermelon, melon.

Fats:  avocado, low fat cheese, low sodium nuts, olive oil, lite mayo.

It seems a little like LENT doesn’t it?  But honestly, it’s a way of life now.

Leave a Reply

