Inspire · Recipes

Grab ‘n Go

2013 grabngo5One of the best parts of this DietBet happens to be the interaction or the “social” conversations with the members of the bet.   With 174 participants in the first 3 days they  have lost 179 pounds.  Not everyone has checked in.

One such lady is Corri.    She has provided Grab and Go recipes that are REALLY good!  Plus she provided nutritional info too.  She also admits that the recipe originated from South Beach.

Silly me, I grabbed the wrong thing at Woodman’s – instead of eggbeaters I grabbed egg whites.  I personally am not a fan of egg whites – it’s the esthetics with me.  My husband is trying to do this with me and he needs Grab and Go things that he can pick out of the fridge before he goes to work.

I picked the first recipe that I knew my husband would like.  There are two more that I’ll post some other day because in this awful heat turning the oven on is NOT a fun thing to do.

Sausage and Cheese Breakfast Cups

  • 4 oz. Jenny O. Turkey Breakfast Sausage or crumbled turkey bacon
  • ½ green bell pepper, chopped
  • ¼ onion, chopped
  • 5 large eggs or 2 cups of eggbeaters
  • ½ cup chopped fresh mushrooms or a 12 oz. can sliced mushrooms
  • ½ cup shredded reduced fat Cheddar cheese.

Preheat oven to 350.  Spray a 6 cup nonstick muffin pan with Pam or use foil baking cups.

In a skillet cook the sausage and vegetables till the sausage is no longer pink.   Allow to cool.

Meanwhile, using a 4 cup measure, crack your eggs into the measure and whisk.  Add your cheese.

Add your meat/veggie mixture to the eggs.  Pour equal amounts into prepared pan.

Bake for 20 minutes or until the egg is set.

According to My Fitness Pal, the Sausage & Cheese Breakfast Cups have 140 calories, 4 carbs, 12 fat, 1 fiber, and 12 protein in 1 cup.

Leave a Reply

