Miss Mary · Recipes

Planning dinner with an empty pantry and fridge.

2013 PR dinner 1Situation:  You pick up a recipe that you want to try for dinner “sometime”.  The evening you want to prepare it, “What, I don’t have RICE VINEGAR?!”  Yep, that’s about it.  Whether the recipe title grabs you or the picture grabs you, we still have to read the recipe in order to make it.

In my case, there was a dire need to go to the grocery store because I was pretty much out of EVERYTHING.  It had been a really long day, in fact when I came home from work I iced my knees up stairs on my bed (haven’t done that in months) and fell asleep.  In my mind I knew what dinner was going to be – the first recipe in the BHG Meals by the Plate.2013 BHG PR diabetes meals

2013 Hansen2It’s six o’clock when I return to the kitchen.   I look at the recipe and realize that the marinade has ginger in it and hubs is NOT a fan of ginger.   We’ll just substitute garlic.  I thankfully had all the ingredients to make the Spicy Ginger Chicken.  I even pounded out the chicken breasts with Hansen’s favorite kitchen tool.  My husband actually commented on how much he liked the ease of grilling the chicken and the size of the pieces – go figure.

When it came to the two sides, well I didn’t have either of them (asparagus and baked sweet potato).  I cut a really large potato in half and nuked it.  I didn’t have any salad fixings of the traditional sense but I had cauliflower, green peppers that were on its last day, and celery.  Perfect slaw ingredients.

The result was dinner.  Still in the correct calorie and carb realm.  The blue plate actually is a nine inch plate.  Food doesn’t really look too attractive on a blue plate.

Gotta say, the chicken was really good.   Here’s the recipe:

Spicy “fill-in-the-blank”-Marinated Chicken

  • ¼ cup Smuckers low-sugar orange marmalade
  • 3 T. reduced-sodium soy sauce
  • 2 T rice vinegar
  • 1 T. canola oil
  • 2 t grated fresh ginger OR garlic
  • ½ to ¼ t crushed red pepper
  • 4 small skinless, boneless chicken breast halves  (I had 2 huge breasts pounded down to make six)

Place your chicken into a large plastic sealable bag.  In a small bowl stir together marmalade, soy sauce, vinegar, oil, ginger/garlic, and red pepper.  Pour the marinade over the chicken.   Because I was not really prepared, I let the chicken sit for half an hour.  The recipe says to marinade it for 4 to six hours.  My bad.

The recipe also says to pan fry.  Not me.   We grilled it on using the indirect heating on a gas grill.  (turn the middle burner off and cook them down the middle)

This made six 3 – 4 oz pieces.  The size of your palm.

After dinner we went to Caputo’s.  Fridge is stocked with all the veggies needed for the next few meals.  Whew.  Hate when you can see to the back of the fridge.

Leave a Reply

