Inspire

Get up and move.

RD Reverse DiabetesTwo years ago I picked up this Reader’s Digest reverse Diabetes and found a world of information.  One of the main emphasis was on exercise only in the terms of GET UP AND MOVE.

I have found that there is a direct correlation between exercise and blood glucose levels – by about 10 points – in your first morning reading.  Yep, it’s true.  That has an overall affect on your A1C number.  The A1C test measures your average blood glucose control for the past 2 to 3 months. This tells your doctor the true story of your overall health as it relates to Diabetes.walking

The overall theme on exercise was to get up and get moving for 20 minutes a day at a 60% level of your maximum effort.  They suggest Yoga, and biking as two very easy first starters in the planned exercise arena – but by just walking 20 to 30 minutes a day that too will be a big change.

The hubs signed me up for AARP when I wasn’t looking.  For years I ignored the magazine but since Kathy Lee and Hoda were on the cover this time I thought I’d take a look.  Under the title of Healthy You there was a just a one paragraph snippet regarding a “new study that shows short bursts of exercise can increase self-control and boost decision making.  It increases the blood flow to your brain.”  That’s pretty true.  I know that after a really good cardio workout in the gym I feel like I can take on the world, until I need to ice.

So in short terms MOVE IT, MOVE IT, MOVE IT.

Leave a Reply

