Miss Mary · Recipes

Wildfire’s Watermelon Salad

2013 WAR1Costco is great for economy sized “things” but they usually don’t sell you half of something, like watermelons.   I don’t really need a whole watermelon but I purchased it anyway because I really wanted my favorite summer salad, Wildfire’s Watermelon Salad.

I used  maybe 1/8 of the watermelon for the salad.  I’ve cut up the half and still have an entire half of a watermelon.  Thinking I’ll share with others.

The salad is really simple and tastes delicious.  Entertain with this and you’ll be a huge hit.

I found a video on how to make it.  There’s a 15 second ad before it starts.  It’s a chef from Wildfire preparing it.  I’m glad I had a chance to see this because I didn’t make mine the way he did but the end result is the same.

Dressing

  • 2 Tablespoons Balsamic vinegar
  • ½ teas Kosher salt
  • ¼ cup light extra virgin olive oil
  • 1/8 teas black pepper
  • ½ shallot, chopped
  • 1 clove garlic, shopped

Salad

  • Cut up watermelon
  • Arugula
  • ¼ pound Feta cheese, small cubes
  • 12-16 Grape tomatoes halved

Whisk all the dressing ingredients.   Layer your salad anyway you like.  Apply the dressing.

It’s so simple and you can use up a part of your watermelon.  This will be your summer favorite.

Leave a Reply

