Miss Mary · Sewing

Busy Week

The sewing room has been really busy and it’s only Wednesday.

I’m starting off with a product review of the Clover Desktop Ultimate Needle Threader that I purchased at Joann Fabrics a while back.  Oh my gosh, it is so helpful.  I’m working on an embroidery project and as many of you crafters know, you work with 18 inches of DMC double thread when you sew.  That isn’t much and you change your thread often.

2013 PR1 2013 PR2 2013 Pr3I found myself spending so much time trying to thread a needle without the Clover that I had to retrieve my new little gadget to give it a try.  It took a bit to get the hang of the process but it’s been a time saver.

This project is a birthday gift for a friend which is long overdue.  I’m a fan of Brynwood Needlework’s and Donna Liljegren’s fine work in all things handmade.  She is an embroidery instructor as well as a quilt instructor and has quite a following.  On January 11th she was preparing for a class she was teaching involving wool and embroidery.  The Crabapple pattern was so adorable and it fed my long time desire to work on a wool project I figured after the wedding this would give me something to do.  Just faire warning the embroidery work on Crabapple is addicting.

2013 WP32013 WP42013 WP1 2013 WP2Here are a few pictures of that project.  I’m in the home stretch.  I haven’t had an embroidery needle in my hand for quite some time therefore I had to relearn stitches.  I did however find a fabulous site to help you relearn your stitches.  Mary Corbet is the goto woman when it comes to BEAUTIFUL needlework.  Her site Needle n Thread has wonderful videos on all the stitches.  (I just love the internet.)

UPDATE.  Finished the project.

2013 WP6

And lastly, I get lost in time and really don’t remember what day it is or the position of the month.  For some reason May has been an exceptional month for me forgetting time continuum.  Meaning, it’s Quilt Guild time this Thursday and I’m behind.  Here are the blocks I’m working on for our BOM demonstration.  I thought I had one more week.

2013 BOM2

2013 BOM1I need to get back to work.  I have lots to accomplish in the next two days.

Leave a Reply

