Miss Mary · Recipes

Stretching those dinners.

Even with only three people in the house I try to make enough so that I can have a “recipe rerun” the next evening or later on during the week.  That’s why I love my Country Chicken recipe.  It’s meant to be made for a large family or as a gift to someone in a time of need such as an illness, or because it really tastes good and makes great leftover round two recipes.

I started with this on Sunday:

CC 1 CC2 CC3

While it is a SIN in an Italian family to hide Italian sausage from the man clan, if you don’t there’s no round two anything.  So before I served the Country Chicken I squirreled away seven of the Italian sausages and some of the potatoes just so I could make the Tortellini Country Sausage Soup.

The soup is easy, simple, and really tastes good.   As the soup simmers it picks up the flavor of the sausage and in this family that’s a winner.  What you taste is the red pepper but only slightly.  Believe me, I’m a huge hot wimp.

Tortellini Country Sausage Soup

  • 2 Tablespoons of extra light olive oil
  • 2 ribs of celery, diced
  • ½ of a large onion, diced
  • 2 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 6  1 ½” sized already cooked hot Italian Sausage, diced
  • 5 size “B” red potatoes, already cooked and diced
  • 2 – 32 ounce Swanson chicken broth, no fat and low sodium
  • 1 – 1 pound bag of frozen cheese tortellini, the small ones (Caputos)

In a large Dutch oven sauté the onions, celery and garlic till soft.  Add the sausage and potatoes till they’re warmed up.  Then add the broth, and frozen tortellini and simmer for twenty minutes.  Notice there’s no SALT in this or pepper.  Add to your individual taste in your own bowl.  If you are watching your carbs, limit the tortellini’s and potato to your individual needs.  (My carb count is 40 per meal.)

CC4 CC5 CC6

Yep that’s it.  You’ll thank me.  The guys each ate two big bowls.  I ate maybe half of one of their bowls.  You can sprinkle your favorite grated Italian cheese over it when you serve.  I know my two guys like crackers in their soup REGARDLESS of what soup I serve.  That’s a little crazy to me but that’s what they like.

Leave a Reply

