Miss Mary · Recipes · Sewing

Wedding bling and memories

Wedding bling 001Sometime during the summer I asked my mother-in-law if I could use some lace from her wedding dress to make my daughters ring pillow.  She graciously said yes and now all five families have a part of her wedding dress along with netting from her veil. The dress was satin.  It’s a lovely ivory color.

I looked and looked for a 10 inch pillow form and there were none to be found in the area.  I made the form, stuffed it and it seems to be a bit smaller after you stuff it.  I think it’s the right size for little hands to carry the rings.

Material girl in Crystal Lake has beautiful wedding lace.  I found 2 laces that were the right color.  Joanne Fabrics had the pearls.  Right now I’m hand sewing the lace onto the satin.  I’ll finish this over the weekend.

Speaking of memories, the plate here is a pre-school work of art by my daughter.  She and her friends have had such laughs over this plate.   Her friends love the saying HesthBotsy. (code for Happy Birthday)  I thought I’d use it to display another tested recipe from the Nordstrom Family Table cookbook, Grilled Chicken Breasts with Red Chili Marinade which was REALLY REALLY good.Wedding bling 004

Red Chili Marinade

  • ½ cup Pinot Grigio
  • ¼ cup extra-light virgin olive oil
  • 3 T. chili powder
  • 1 T. granulated garlic
  • 1 T. granulated onion
  • 1 T kosher salt ( you could lower this)
  • 1 t. dried oregano
  • 1 t. restaurant black pepper
  • 6 boneless, skinless chicken breasts halves.

Wedding bling 006Whisk the wind, oil, chilli powder, granulated garlic, granulated onion, salt, oregano and pepper in a bowl. Add the chicken to a Ziploc bag and add the marinade.  Refrigerate for 30 minutes but no longer than an hour.

Get your grill going.  Shake off excess marinade before placing on your prepared grill.  Grill till done.

EXCELLENT flavor and tastes even better the next couple of days.

Leave a Reply

