Miss Mary · Sewing

Giving Back With FWQ

A lovely lady, Donna Liljegren, coordinated a Farmer’s Wife quilt along this year.  I started it in January and hurriedly finished it for my daughter’s wedding shower for October 28th.  During the spring one of the ladies suggested we all create a “Friendship Star” block from the Farmer’s Wife in our colors to send to Donna as a token of our appreciation.

I’m a little slow in getting this done but I had a life’s worth of challenges in my lap.  Today, I needed to finish this simple little star as it had been weighing on my mind.  I’ll have it in the mail tomorrow.  What you see sitting next to the quilt square is a gift from Donna.  I’m always grateful for gorgeous fabrics that come my way.

My quilt is finished and is in the hands of my daughter.  It was really challenging and rewarding upon completion.  Now I need a new project after I get a few other projects completed before the wedding (ahem, January 12th!)

The ladies that participated in the quilt along came from all over the United States and Australia.   We all kept in touch as we went along.  Such a small world we live in.  Who would have believed that a small group of people from all over would come together over a project such as this.  Just think if we were to solve world peace?

2 thoughts on “Giving Back With FWQ

  1. Oh, my goodness! My beautiful block arrived today and I love it! Thank you so much for a gift from your own hands. I love the quilt you created for your daughter. She must be thrilled to have it. I’m so glad you participated in the QAL…and so glad I can consider you a friend.
    Blessings to you and yours.
    xo
    Donna

    Like

  2. Mary your FW quilt is stunning. Wonderful colors for this project. What a loving and beautiful wedding present for your daughter. Donna is a dear and she is so appreciative of our Friendship star blocks. You have inspired me to work on my blocks for my small wall hanging. Blissful Stitching…

    Like

Leave a Reply

