Miss Mary

Panera’s Tomato, Cheese and Bread Soup

With my physical therapy going from 10:30am to 11:30am I really like to head to Panera for their Tomato Soup after my hour of suffering. Well low and behold they have the recipe listed on their site. I thought I would try my hand at it. Not bad.

It calls for 3 large onions. I happen to like Vidalia onions which are monsters. So I ended up using 1 and a half onions.  As you can see in the picture I also use Swanson’s Chicken Broth that’s 99% fat free.  The tomatoes, on the other hand, we could not find crushed peeled plum tomatoes.  So I used peeled plum tomatoes and use my potato masher to crush them.

Also, I wish my food processor wasn’t broken or I would have processed the soup like it says.  That would certainly give it that lush thickness that is served at Panera.

Don’t let the “Bread” portion of the title fool you.  The bread isn’t in the soup.  From what I can tell, this is really a low calorie great soup.  The flavor is there too, just like Panera.

It makes A LOT of soup.  It would be great on a cold afternoon or for dinner with grilled cheese for the family.

Oh PS, who took my ladle?

Panera’s Tomato, Cheese and Bread Soup

  • 8 ounces crusty Sourdough croutons
  • 2 T extra-virgin olive oil
  • 9 garlic cloves, minced
  • 3 onions, choppd
  • 8 C chicken stock or low-salt chicken broth
  • 2 28oz cans plum tomatoes, drained and crushed
  • 1/4 C freshly grated Parmesan cheese
  • Parmesan Reggiano rind (optional)
  • 1/4 C Parmesan cheese shavings
  • 1/4 C freshly grated Asiago cheese

Heat olive oil in heavy large pot over medium heat.  Add onions and Saute until very tender, about 25 minutes.  Add minced garlic and cook 1 minute.  Add chicken stock, crushed tomatoes, cheeses and rind.  Simmer soup uncovered 30 minutes, stirring constantly.  Season to taste with salt and pepper.  For smoother texture, purée in blender or food processor before serving.

Ladle into bread bowls or bowls.  Add croutons, torn basil (optional), and Parmesan cheese shavings just before serving.

 

Leave a Reply

