Recipes

What’s for dinner QUICK cuz the battle round of The Voice is on

What’s for Dinner – Spicy Shrimp Salad

Last night was the first battle round of The Voice, and I was running late with dinner.  We had been out and about, I finished my Frilly Dilly bag and before I knew it I had 30 minutes before show time.  So what could I make fast?

Our fridge/ freezer has been dying a slow death making me use up my shrimp stockpile.  (new side-by-side arrives Thrursday)  Shrimp cooks quickly, it’s the dinner prep that uses up your precious time.  I used the sauce that two weeks ago my friend Jen Becker made her rendition of Bang Bang Shrimp with and I adapted for our friends a week ago at our WIU brunch.  Looking all over the internet I’ve seen the “home” versions served on lettuce or rice.  Well, let’s use both!

Serves 2

Ingredients

  • Half a bag of frozen shrimp (Costco 31-40 count), thawed and tails removed
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • Salt and Pepper to taste
  • 1 bag of Success Brown Rice, prepared
  • 1 chicken bouillon
  • 1/3 cup Dinni’s Shrimp Sauce
  • Half a head of red leaf lettuce, washed and cut up
  • 4 scallions, sliced

Start your Success Brown rice using a chicken bouillon in the water.  

To a saute pan add Extra Light Olive oil and the garlic.  Flavor the oil with the garlic (don’t burn) and then add the thawed shrimp.  Add your salt and pepper and sauté till shrimp are cooked.  (6 to 8 minutes tops)  Turn the heat off.  Add the Dinni’s Shrimp Sauce and mix till well coated. 

Layer your dinner with the red leaf lettuse, then the brown rice, shrimp, the sauce from the pan and scallions.  Voila!

We sat back and watched The Voice while eating dinner but when my man Chris Mann came on I was GLUED to the tube.  Don’t EVEN talk to me.  Christina did a great job in picking the song.  BTW, Lionel Ritchie you are amazing.  You can watch it all here.  Chris Man vs Monique  Plus, you can keep up when he’s on stage and any other time at @IAMChrisMann on Twitter.

One thought on “What’s for dinner QUICK cuz the battle round of The Voice is on

Leave a Reply

