Miss Mary · Sewing

The NEXT Miss Mary

I make totes for many reasons and this next one is one of those reasons – charity.  The Algonquin – Lake in the Hills Food Pantry will have it’s second annual Bloomin Bunco in April.  Last year you may remember I made a Miss Mary and participated with a fine cast of cookie ladies to help create the “dessert” room.  It was awesome!

I asked a few friends what colors should I make this next one out of and I received a few answers.  One of the answers was, “Pantone color pick for 2012 is Tangerine Orange.  I love the orange with the peacock blue or aqua blue.”   (psst, thank you Carmen)  That color combination sounded intriguing.  I was ready to go visit one of my favorite quilt shops, Quilt in Joy, to see what they had.

Well look what I found!   While the blue isn’t a peacock blue, it goes so well with the oters.  I’ll be playing around with this for a bit to see how best to combine the colors with my pattern pieces.  Who knows, maybe it’ll be a new pattern.

Check back for more on the Bloomin Bunco in April.  You HAVE to go if you live around here.  The Pantry has helped so many residents that it’s the least we all can do.  Last year, their first year, they had 600 participants.  NO KIDDING.

 

Leave a Reply

