Miss Mary · Recipes

Shrimp Tomato Bisque

From what I can gather regarding “bisque” it is typically a soup that you put in the food processor till pureed.  Well, I’m all about the mess and can’t stand to make more trouble for myself.  So in the truest form, this recipe is not a bisque soup – but for a lack of a better word, yes it is today.

We’ve had a little trouble with my Kenmore Elite refrigerator/ freezer.  It isn’t working.  Therefore everything that was in the freezer section had to be moved to our garage refrigerator freezer. For some reason I hoard shrimp.  I have no idea why, but three bags is a little O.T.T. (over the top).  This “event” helped me make up what we were having for dinner.

The Chicagoland area has had hardly any snow this year and tonight is our big storm.  Right now at 5:32 pm there’s about four fabulous inches out there with more coming down each second.  While the appliance guy was here I was putting my soup together but we kept getting in each other’s way.  I gracefully gave up my kitchen so he could work on the behemoth.   It still isn’t working and needs new parts.   I haven’t had my fridge since the second week of December.  That’s right, through Christmas. 

Well here goes.  The recipe is Adapted from my BFF Ina Garten from her Barefoot Contessa at Home cookbook.   I did not make my own stock.  I really combined her cream of mushroom soup with the Shrimp bisque recipe.   I needed SOME PLACE TO START.

Shrimp Tomato Bisque

  • 1 pound frozen already cooked shrimp, thawed, tails removed, and cut into thirds
  • 4 cups of vegetable stock, store kind is fine
  • 6 tablespoons of light olive oil
  • 1 extra large leek, sliced
  • ½ shallot, chopped
  • 1 carrot, chopped
  • 2 stalks of celery, diced
  • 1 container size of fresh Crimini mushrooms, stems removed and sliced
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/8 teaspoon of red pepper flakes
  • 1 15 oz can crushed tomatoes, IGA brand
  • ½ cup sherry
  • 1 stick butter
  • ½ cup flour
  • 2 cups half-and-half
  • 1 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1 teaspoon restaurant ground black pepper

In a large Dutch oven sauté all the veggies –celery, carrots, leek, shallot, and garlic till tender.  Add the mushrooms and continue cooking till the mushrooms are soft.  Add the stock, tomatoes, red pepper, and sherry.  Stir to combine. 

Meanwhile, in a small sauce pan, melt your butter.  Add your flour, salt and pepper making a roux.  Add the roux and the half and half to the soup mixture.  Stir till incorporated and watch it as it thickens.  Keep scraping the bottom of the pan so you don’t let it burn.  Should cook for about 20 minutes to let all the flavors combine. 

Serve after your sweetie shovels the snow.   When finished, pack them up in these little beuties that Ina uses on her show.  I LOVE THEM.  They last forever and I keep them away from everyone in the house.   

One thought on “Shrimp Tomato Bisque

Leave a Reply

