Miss Mary · Recipes

What for Dinner? Tuscan Lemon Chicken

It’s my favorite chicken dish these days especially during the summer.  It’s a perfect grilling recipe to make.  It’s not my recipe but comes from one of my favorite chefs,  Ina Garten, the Barefoot Contessa who is on Food Network.  I have two of her cookbooks that I reach for when I’m in the mood to cook. 

One episode that Ina prepared was on Tuscan Lemon Chicken.  It was as if you could feel the aroma drift through my kitchen patio door.  I had to try it. 

For this recipe rosemary is required.  All summer long I grow parsley, basil, thyme and rosemary in my raised bed garden.  The best part of making these recipes is that I don’t have to RUN to the store to pick up fresh herbs.  I do however gave to pick up the other ingredients.

Two essential pieces of equipment in my kitchen are needed  for this recipe; the rasp and wood reamer

I purchase a sectioned 3 pound chicken that your butcher has already cut up for you.  I’m not into cutting up whole chickens when the butcher does it for you daily. 

I do not use as much salt as Ina does and have noted it or omitted the way in which she originally had it in her recipe.  You can click on the link above and get her original recipe which appears in her book Back to Basics.  BTW, I think this is her best cookbook.

Tuscan Lemon Chicken

  • 1  3 ½ – pound chicken, cut up
  • ¾ teaspoon Kosher salt
  • 1/3 cup extra light olive oil
  • 2 teaspoons grated lemon zest (2 lemons)
  • 1/3 cup freshly squeezed lemon juice (same lemons reamed)
  • 1 Tablespoon garlic, minced (3 cloves)
  • 1 Tablespoon rosemary, minced
  • 1 teaspoon black pepper

Rinse your chicken and pat dry.  Set aside.

TIP:  To help the bowl stay in place, wrap a dish towl around the base of the bowl.

Using the rasp grate the zest of 2 lemons into a small mixing bowl.   Using the wood reamer on the grated lemons, ream the juice into a small Pyrex liquid one cup measure.  Two lemons should give you 1/3 cup of juice.  Using a small strainer over the mixing bowl pour the juice through the strainer to remove the seeds.  Add the oil, garlic, rosemary and pepper.  Using a wire whisk blend until incorporated.  (The marinade can be made a day ahead of time.)

Place the chicken in a sealable zip bag.  Pour the marinade over the chicken.  Marinate in the fridge for at least 4 hours.

Prepare your grill for indirect heating.  Place the chicken down the center of your grill.  Grill till one side is golden, flip and do the same to the other.  I keep working with the chicken by turning a few times till no juice is running from the chicken when a fork is inserted.

Remove to a serving dish when done.  Let the chicken rest for five minutes.  Serve. 

Mangiare bene.  (Eat well!)

 

Leave a Reply

