Learning to Cook · Miss Mary · Recipes

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

UPDATE:  I’m re-posting the fudge recipe because it is the single most searched for item on my blog along with Captain America Cookies.  No kidding.  Just an aside, I did have someone contact me regarding the recipe whom had the same experience as I did growing up with fudge.  Always nice to connect to readers.

Last year my sister mentioned one of her fondest memories of growing up was having homemade fudge from the Betty Crocker cookbook.  She took a liking to my mom’s cookbook and has it now.  I really missed making recipes out of that book and did not like the newer versions.  My aunt visited antique shops as a hobby and found one for me.  It wasn’t the same year but the copyright says 1969. Hallelujah!

This evening the neighborhood is having a S’mores party and I’m going to bring a treat too, Betty Crocker’s Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge.  They don’t seem to have this recipe online and I probably know why, there are easier methods to making fudge.

This particular recipe reflects the “time” when you didn’t really have much money.  You used what you had in the cupboard plus elbow grease.  My husband, love this man, spent the 10 minutes stirring the fudge at the end.  It looks like fondant.

The aroma of chocolate permeates the house.   It certainly brings back memories of stirring the fudge on my mother’s makeshift counter top.  We didn’t have any money.  Kresge, which became Kmart, was selling off all the counters.  My mom purchased them to make a kitchen counter and seating bank.  She added laminate on top and put a metal siding around the edge.  Her motto, “Necessity is the mother of invention”.   She lived that as much as she could every day.

Printed version:   2011 Old Fashioned Fudge

Old-fashioned Chocolate Fudge

  • 2 cups granulated sugar
  • 2/3 cup milk
  • 1/3 cup cocoa
  • 2 Tablespoons corn syrup
  • ¼ teaspoon salt
  • 2 Tablespoons butter
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • ½ cup nuts, chopped (optional)

Butter a 9” square cake pan.  Combine sugar, milk, chocolate, corn syrup and salt in 2-quart saucepan.  Cook over medium heat, stirring constantly, until sugar dissolves.  Cook Stirring occasionally to 234° on your candy thermometer (or until a small amount of the mixture is dropped into very cold water and forms a soft ball which flattens when removed from the water).

Remove from heat; add butter.  Cool mixture to 120° without stirring.  Add vanilla; beat vigorously 5 to 10 minutes (we had to do 10) until candy is thick and no longer glossy.   Quickly stir in nuts if you’re using them.  Spread the mixture evenly in buttered pan.  Cool until firm.  Cut into squares.  Makes 32  1-inch squares.

11 thoughts on “Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

  1. Thank you so much for posting this as I am visting family and do not have my trusty Betty Crocker cookbook with me! I make this every year during the holidays. My mother taught me and we have always loved it. It is June and my nephew just requested that I make some for him in order to celebrate his high school graduation. Fudge in June? Have to do it for the kid.

    Like

  2. I have been making this fudge for years. To me it is easy and delicious. It needs patience to wait for the fudge to cool. I like scraping out the pan after the fudge is poured to cool. It is a no-nonscience receipe.

    Like

  3. THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU My mother and I always used this recipe to make our fudge for Christmas we lost her last year and my kids had all asked me to make grandmas fudge but somehow this page in my Betty Crocker book got lost. I have been looking for it every since Thank you so much now I can surprise my children and brothers and introduce my grandbabies to the most wonderful fudge I have ever eaten and share some of the most wonderful memories of Christmas and a most wonderful mother whom we all miss so very much So once again THANK YOU

    Like

  4. Thank you for posting this, it was my favorite fudge growing up. I’ve wanted to make it for years but the page is missing from my mothers cook book! I’m the culprit that lost the recipe as I carried it with me from move to move in my younger years! So glad to have found it.

    Like

  5. Thank you so much! I made this with my mom growing up at Christmas time as she did with her mom and that single page is literally detached from the binding of the book. My mother still has it (I hope to get it one day.) We haven’t spoken for a couple of years but now thanks to you I can make it with my daughter. It’s cold today so no school and even though Christmas has passed I think we will pretend and make a batch. She is already great in the kitchen and I think she will love to make this for her brothers and sisters. Thanks again!!!

    Like

  6. This was my all time favorite fudge recipe my grandma and mom used to make and I helped make for many years growing up. We’d add 1/2 cup of creamy peanut butter too and that would always disappear as fast as we could make it!

    Like

  7. When I was young, like 50 plus years ago (proud I made it this far) anyway 1. who said fudge is only for Christmas? and 2. When we made it, we made individual pieces on wax paper to set. About the size of a regular cookie Anyone else do this and if so any ideas on any changes in the recipe?

    Like

Leave a Reply

