Miss Mary · Recipes

Baking Memories Frosted Creams

Back in the day mothers, even I, were able to make a child’s birthday treat to take to school.  I was in third grade attending St. Columba School in Ottawa, Illinois.  My mother didn’t tell me she was making anything but walked in with a sheet pan of  Frosted Creams all decorated with a fancy leaf on each square.  It was a highlight of my third grade year and I remember it to this day.  My mom was an excellent baker.  She could make anything or do anything.

I’ve made this recipe, which is my grandmothers, from her original recipe.  It’s frayed and brittle but I just can’t part with it. 

This recipe is a sheet pan’s worth of deliciousness.  If you ever need a lot for a group, this is a great go to recipe.

TIP:  Here’s a technique for when you have to measure molasses.  Because of the thickness of molasses it’s difficult to get out of the jar.  Using your four cup Pyrex liquid measure, fill it up with hot water in your sink.  Place the jar, lid on, of molasses in the hot water bath and let it sit till pourable – about five minutes.

Frosted Creams

Preheat your oven to 350°.  Prepare your 11 x 17 jelly roll pan with butter and flour.

  • ½ cup butter
  • 2 eggs
  • ½ cup granulated sugar
  • 2 eggs, room temperature
  • 1 cup molasses, yellow label
  • 1 cup of hot water
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon baking p;owder
  • 1 large teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon ginger
  • 1 teaspoon cloves
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • 3 ½ cups flour

In your mixer using the flat paddle, cream the butter and sugar. 

Crack the eggs into a small bowl so as not to get chards of shell into the cake batter.  Add the eggs and beat well. 

Add the soda to ½ cup of the hot water and dissolve.  Add to the first mixture.

Sift the rest of the dry ingredients together and add alternately with the rest of the hot water.

Bake at 350° for 25 minutes or until it leaves the sides of the pan.

Use your favorite Cream Cheese frosting when the cake has completely cooled off.  

ENJOY! 

One thought on “Baking Memories Frosted Creams

  1. We are from the same part of the country. I grew up in Plano, IL. My Aunt Lori used to make the most delicious Frosted Creams for our Family Reunions. I never got the recipe… 😦 I can’t wait to try this one. Your Grandmother’s recipe (the actual paper) looks very similar to the many our family treasures from my Mother and Grandmother. Thank You!

    Like

Leave a Reply

