Miss Mary

It’s a Lifestyle Change

It’s been 13 weeks since I started a lifestyle change. The picture to the left was taken on May 6, 2011.   The one on the right was taken on September 17, 2011.

On June 27th my husband and I committed to a lifestyle change by incorporating Body for Life concepts into our daily routines.  We follow their meal plan which is incredibly simple but requires commitment to providing food in the home along with supplements when consumed after working out helps you refuel and build lean muscle.

We had to prioritize what was important.  Living with Type 2 Diabetes just isn’t my cup of tea.  Therefore, I’m working harder to control my destiny.  I’m WAY the hell too young to be consumed by an aggressive disease.  (And that’s a whole other story.)

The exercise for both of us is easy.  It’s finding the time, early morning for him sometimes, or after work.  For me, I go sometime during the day.  The exercise consists of 3 days of cardio and 3 days of weight training.   I like my gym.  I didn’t think I would enjoy the amenity free environment.

Honestly, for me, the beginning was really about the will to succeed.  When you think success you’ll achieve success.  When you think about your muscle pain, tell your body to SHUT UP because you’re in this for the long haul and it gets better.

I’ve lost 23 pounds.  I did not take measurements but probably should have because that’s REALLY changed.  You can really see the difference.  Medically, my doctor about fell off his laptop.  He loves my new numbers.  Looking in the review mirror and seeing how far I’ve come has certainly been worth the work.  The 20 minute cardio has now turned into 45 minutes and I’m burning 500 calories instead of 300.

What I’ve learned is that you have to change.  You can embrace the successes you’ve accomplished even if it’s not being able to do one single pushup but you’re WORKING on it.  I incorporated pushups a month ago and could hardly do them – now it’s 40 each time I exercise.  (Ok, girl pushups, but I’m getting there.)

Last week I had a setback that I can overcome with different exercises.  Lunges and squats are no longer in the mix but seated leg lifts and extensions are now the route to stronger legs.

Helpful hints:  GET AN IPOD AND BUILD YOURSELF A PLAYLIST.  Goes much faster and you’re happy when you’re done.

There are a few things that help you be successful when exercising.

  1. A GREAT playlist to motivate you to do more and finish.
  2. Your will power.
  3. HAVE A POSITIVE ATTITUDE – SMILE when you’re done. You just kicked butt!

This isn’t over.

One thought on “It’s a Lifestyle Change

  1. Miss Mary, You are a neighbor, a friend, a “fill-in” Grandma and an inspiration to our family. I admire you and your big heart! I am soo proud of you and your Life Style Change! Keep up the good work cause the Balmers want you around for a long long time.!

    love sue, mark & lily

    Like

Leave a Reply

