Gardening · Miss Mary

Bzzz Bee Balm Monarda

One of my FAVORITE perennials is Bee Balm (Monarda) in all shapes and colors.  I really like the bright pink color the most.  It took years for it to finally grow in my garden.   I kept reminding myself that patience is a virtue.

The aromatic qualities of Bee Balm are enticing.  You are drawn to the scent.  For perennial gardeners we know instinctively the scent and look for it.  As the name suggests, their presence will summon bees to your garden, along with other nectar seekers, such as butterflies and hummingbirds. Monarda species and their many hybrid varieties come in a stunning range of colors.

Indigenous to North America perhaps that’s why Cicely Mary Barker never painted or authored a Bee Balm Fairy print or poem.  The closest familiar plant may be the Greater Knapweed considered a roadside weed, which here in the United States we have lots of the species that grows along our highways called Bergamot. 

So I am improvising a little just by the appearance of her work to include the Knapweed.  Miss Barker printed her work in the late 1800’s. 

 

Greater Knapweed Fairy by Cicely Mary Barker

Oh, please, little children, take note of my name:
To call me a thistle is really a shame:
I’m harmless old Knapweed, who grows on the chalk,
I will never prick you when out for your walk.

Yet I should be sorry, yes, sorry indeed,
To cut your small fingers and cause them to bleed;
So bid me Good Morning when out for your walk,
And mind how you pull at my very tough stalk.

Leave a Reply

