Recipes

Cookie Talent…

When it comes to creative design, or ART, I’m a wimp.   I’m really good at the mechanics such as making the dough, rolling the dough, cutting out the cookies, baking the cookies and making icing.  So when I have a complicated request, such as cherubs, I call in the experts, Lynne and Alli Grunthaner. 

Alli is home between college studies at Savannah College of Art and Design and her internship in Seattle.  Algonquin, Illinois happens to be home and dead middle of the two.  Alli comes from a long line of artistic family members, including her mom Lynne.  Alli’s portfolio of her work is on SCAD’s site.  (PS, she did my logo.)

It took a few minutes for the two of them to shoot ideas back and forth, draw them on the freezer paper on my table deciding how best to frost the cherubs.  One idea, then another, what color, hair-no hair, what are you doing with the frames, how about the hearts and birds?  I sincerely enjoyed their frenzied artistic banter of ideas; it’s as if Austin and I weren’t in the room.  (Austin is a rising 8th grader and lives down the street.  He wanted to learn how to decorate cookies.  We actually made the dough together the day before.)

All the time they were designing, I tried to create the icing using Meringue Powder.  Not as successful as I had hoped and just have to learn through trial and error.   Better for another day.   I reverted back to my standard icing recipe. 

The end result for my sister Jennifer Wolfe’s art opening Nudes in the Garden took about three hours and they’re lovely. 

I ordered the cherub from Fancy Flours who has a huge inventory of all kinds of cookie cutters. 

Lynne brought the Wilton Damask Patterned Sugar Sheets which are used on the hearts.  They look fabulous.  I can’t say I’ve ever seen such a tool, but as you can see they’re gorgeous.

Jennifer will be delighted at the fancy culinary cookies for her opening. 

Leave a Reply

