Gardening · Miss Mary

Iris the Bearded Kind

The Bearded Iris.  About fifteen years ago Laura Cook gave me a bag full of Iris rhizomes form her mother’s garden.  I have planted them all over my yard. I’ve even dug them up and given more away all over Algonquin.

The Iris when not cared for properly will smother itself producing sad or no flowers.  In order for the flower to look lovely, you need to divide them every four to five years.

This year they all popped in the purple garden all together.  It was quite the show. 

 

The Song of the Iris Fairy  by Cicely Mary Barker

I am Iris: I’m the daughter
Of the marshland and the water.
Of the clear and peaceful stream;
Water-lilies large and fair
With their leaves are floating there;
All the water-world I see,
And my own face smiles at me!

Leave a Reply

