Best Loved Sugar Cookie Recipe

2014 baby shower 13To all my readers, friends and coworkers whom have asked for the sugar cookie recipe or for me to help them with making the cookies.  I’m writing this for you.  This is the recipe that my sister-in-law Sue Abraham gave me years ago and has been a family favorite for years.  The cookies seem to have become a real favorite here where I live too.

Just recently I made them for a baby shower for the young lady whom is the owner of the gym I belong to.  My BFF Lynne Grunthaner and I have LOTS of cookie cutters and we end up using each other’s when we can’t find an appropriate one in our stashes.  Currently Lynne has the great baby shower cutters.

This time around I used my recipe for the icing but I used Wilton’s royal icing mix for the detail work.  It really did work out well as you can see with the detail on the bottles and carriages.  I’ve tried their recipe and I have never liked it.  I DO, however, like their mix.  I had lots of help with the icing of these from my other friends from the gym, Donna and Dana.  Truly, the help was needed to keep me from eating them.  Donna likes to use a Taser when we get out of line.

2014 Baby shower cookies2

2014 Baby shower cookies12014 baby shower cookies3I personally don’t like to sell the cookies because they have real egg whites in the icing.  Plus, it takes a very long time to make them.  I make the dough one day, bake them the next, ice them the next and if it needs further detail that’s more time.  I do it like this because it doesn’t make me feel rushed and I’m not standing on my feet for that long.

Here’s the recipe:

  • 1 ½ cups softened butter
  • 1 ½ cups powdered sugar
  • 1 extra large egg, room temperature
  • 1 T. Mexican vanilla
  • 3 cups all purpose flour
  • ¼ t. kosher salt

In your mixer using your flat beater, cream the butter and sugar.  Beat in the egg and vanilla, then flour and salt until well blended.  Divide the dough and place each between 2 sheets of wax paper.  Flatten to ¾” thick rounds.  Cover and refrigerate AT LEAST one hour or longer.  (It’ll stay a few days in the fridge or freezer.)

Preheat your oven to 350°.  On a floured silpat, roll out the dough between 1/8” to ¼”.  Cut out your cookie.  Using the thin long spatula, place the cutout cookie on an ungreased cookie sheets.  Bake at 350° for 8 minutes, turn the pan and bake for 1 to 2 more minutes.  If the cookies are thick it may take 12 minutes to bake.  Remove when done and immediately move the cookies to a cooling rack using a wide spatula (saves the cookies from drooping).  Protect whatever surface you’ll be using to place your cookies on by placing a protective mat under freezer paper.

Icing

  • 2 T. softened butter
  • 2 extra large egg whites, room temperature
  • 1 t. Mexican vanilla
  • Pinch of salt
  • 3 cups of confectioners sugar

In your mixer using your wire whisk, beat ¼ cup of powdered sugar with the 2 Tablespoons of butter. Add the next half cup of sugar.  Add the egg white, salt and vanilla being sure to scrape the sides of the bowl and mix well.  Add the remaining sugar.  You may need to add 1 to 2 Tablespoons of water or half and half to get the consistency you need for your decorating kit bottles.

Cookies need at least 6 hours to dry (I usually let them dry over night).  Pack a layer at a time using wax paper or parchment paper between layers.  You can give as gifts, make a cookie tree, use cellophane bags, or place on a platter displaying your hours of love.

2 Responses to Best Loved Sugar Cookie Recipe

  1. Thanks for sharing your cookie recipe with us, Mary. Such a labor of love to make and decorate all of these cookies. And such will power to not eat them. I would need someone with a taser to stop me, too. :)
    Happy Sunday!
    Beth

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 602 other followers

